Food as a time travel machine!!

in #food7 years ago

I have travelled the world from a younger age, it seems to be my destiny. Born in Rhodesia (today is known as Zimbabwe), spent my childhood years in Venezuela, Teenager and young adult in Portugal, freshly graduated in Spain and as engineer divided between European countries until I arrive and settle in Norway where I currently live with my wife (half Swedish and half Norwegian).

My travel and leaving experiences allowed me to have a common subject: food

For me food acquires its own language and grow into a multifaceted cultural product shaped by memories, geography, and later, the need to travel in time, to tell my history.

Food has always helped me to connect with people, eating together or sharing a meal gives me the sense of sharing a part of my soul.

When I cook I am just travelling back in time with all the smells, flavours and sensations, the feeling of love and caring are embedded in each recipe that I cook.

I will be posting different recipes and food that I really appreciate and trying to tell a little bit of the history behind the dish. Hope you guys enjoy it!

This recipe is a fusion of two cultures Norwegian and Portuguese.

Dried and salted cod has been produced for over 200 years in Norway where it is called klippfisk, literally "cliff-fish". Traditionally it was dried outdoors by the wind and sun, often on cliffs and other bare rock-faces.
The Spanish and Portuguese "conquistadores" brought from the New World vegetables, such as potatoes and corn, but none of them is so rich in protein as the beans. Therefore this recipe includes the best of both worlds.

Cod Salad

Ingredients

-400 g of bean sour
-olive oil
-2 sliced dried cod slices (already soaked 24 Hours )
-3 eggs
1 onion
vinegar

STEP 1
Cook the cod slices for 12 minutes, drain, remove skins and fishbones, reserve.

STEP 2
In a wok or similar, place the olive oil with the finely chopped onion, chopped garlic and parsley in cubes, brown until golden, add cod to the slices, the olives, wrap and then put the already drained beans, let to the fire for 5 minutes, season with salt and ground pepper in the height, water with olive oil and wrap well, remove from the fire, sprinkle with chopped parsley

DSC_0325.JPG
DSC_0327.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @alexteixeira! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alexteixeira! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43