A Better Fly Trap? This Design is Pretty Impressive.

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Being that it's Summer and I don't want to pay for air conditioning, I leave the doors open in the evening to cool off. Then close them before bed to trap the cool air inside for the following day. Unfortunately, this also allows flies into the house.

For that reason I exhaustively researched means of flying pest control. Zappers, sticky paper, UV lights with vacuum traps below them, the whole gamut. The trap that supposedly works the best is also nearly the simplest. It consists of a rotating trapping element that slowly encloses the fly.

Then the fly has no choice, as the space available to it shrinks, but to go into the holding chamber. The trap operates continuously and unlike sticky paper, is indefinitely reusable. (Though of course, the bait must occasionally be replenished.)

Critically, this uses much less energy than zapper style traps, but kills 'em just as dead. :)

The central holding chamber on top has a rotating floor with a hole in it. The hole is under the portion of the central chamber that's blacked out, so the flies won't be distracted by overhead light and will try to escape downwards instead.

It's brand new, so of course nothing is trapped in there yet. But after a week I'll give you guys an update on how well it works. I have high hopes for this little gadget, which only ran me about $20. Below you can see a video of it in action:


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Definitely you must give this update! I am really fed up with such f#$king flies! No matter you use flame thrower against them! Actually they all must die!

Cheers~

Finally! I will be the Lord of the Flies!

Cometh to my white temple I will give thee milk and honey. Denyeth me, and ye shall wallow in the garbage bins for eternity.

Made me smile, have a follow.

The First Day I saw the video of this product online , they said it was a better way to trap flies without killing them so what do you intend doing to these flies when you trap them?

Secondly, what bait do you intend using? It has to be something with a strong pungent smell right?

I used caramel syrup as the bait. I'll just leave the flies in there until they starve.

In Australia flies are crazy yo!

And you're right the best is always the simplest... and also delicous. Sweet red wine

red wine kills flies?

You betch ya! They fly in and can`t help but want to get some, so they fall in.
After that either the drown, or drink themselves to death!

Only downside, shame for the red wine!

It looks like someone has a new hobby aside Minecraft. I hope the trap works. Flies are very annoying.

Flies can be a real nuisance, sometimes they vex me so much so that my veins pop out yet still they are so sly and difficult to catch or kill, i wil waiting for that update

I design of this gadget is cool and creative, i love the way technology is progressing day in day out, fingers crossed hopefully this will put an end to your flies disturbance issue

We've got some of them little annoying day flies flying around the kitchen for days now because my roommate leaves food all over the place.. I need to show them this!

Impressive design.
Looks like a staircase of a hotel.

You say that the only consumable is the bait, but in the video this arm is turning around meaning that it uses electricity, either battery or mains.
Is this right or do I misunderstand something?

No, by consumable I mean something I have to manually replace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63