Made in Romania #5 - Cooked cabbage Traditional Romanian recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemians !


Today I will show you a traditional recipe of Cooked cabbage.


This was a type of food that usually my grandmother would prepare for me when I was little. I have to confess that I still miss the test of the cabbage that she was making. I can't manage to do it like here no matter how I try, but even so my family likes it.

Cooked cabbage is a meal in our kitchen and especially in the Moldavian houses. Although I prepare it in several ways, simple, with pork, with smoked bacon, or in the famous cabbage way like in Cluj, I confess that this it cannot be compared with the one that my grandmother was cooking.

Ingredients:
2 green cabbage
3 big onions
2 carrots
a bell pepper
300 ml broth or tomato juice
100 ml of vegetable oil
a spoonful of thyme
4-5 bay leaves
2 teaspoons of sweet pepper
a dagger bond
250 ml of water
salt and pepper

Put the oil to the heat and cook the onion finely chopped, cubed pepper and the carrot on the small dough for 4-5 minutes. I used a handful of chopped peppers that I had in the freezer. Add the cabbage and chicken it until it gets glassy, ​​stirring occasionally so it does not stick. You can add the cabbage gradually as it is so that it will fit in the pot so it will soften in the meantime.
Put the broth, bay leaves, thyme, dill, salt, pepper and water and mix well. Cover with a lid and boil for 30 minutes. After that, add the pot and boil again without lid (to drop) for another 20 minutes. I like it more dense, if you want it to be lower you can put the pot in the preheated oven at 200 degrees C for another 25-30 minutes. It is sweet and absolutely delicious, for a little acre you can replace the water with little borscht, or you can use the sour cabbage. Serve with hot and hot pepper.

Sort:  

hy friend i am new in steemit so i upvot u and u upvot me plz.

Thank you friend !

Looking tasty i will try this cook.Thank you for your share.

Thanks @tango1 ! It is worth trying it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58603.60
ETH 2628.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45