Let Food Be Thy Medicine

in #food6 years ago

Aaah..that moment when you cut open a perfectly ripe avocado is such a sweet sensation, can anyone else relate?
IMG_2593.jpg
Avocados are loaded with nutritional value! Vitamins K, C, B, and E. Iron, protein, potassium and more!

I came home today craving guacamole after having a taste of some at my job earlier today. For the past two weeks I've been transitioning into raw foods. I've been a vegan for nearly two and a half years, however raw vegan is a whole 'nother ball park. It feels as if I went vegan for the first time all over again.

I am on a journey of healing and by taking photos and writing blogs, I am making this journey a bit more fun for myself and hopefully inspire others along the way :)

So, back to the guac! My meals have consisted of mostly smoothies but tonight I needed something with a little more sustenance. Having no idea what raw meal would go best with guacamole, to the Google I went! The recipe that caught my eye were these raw vegan wraps from http://blog.fablunch.com/

They looked super easy and delicious. I recently ate a pre-made raw vegan cilantro lime wrap that blew my mind from Rawk Star Creations that my friend told me was available at a local store. That may have been the first time I ate a collard green...don't judge me...and it was really good! So, when I came across this recipe I was excited to try it out and it did not disappoint.

Collard Greens are healthy with Vitamin B, iron, protein, potassium, omega-3 and more!

IMG_2596.jpg

Bell Peppers (Red Peppers have the most nutritional value)provide us Vitamin C and B, folate, antioxidants and more!

Cabbage nurtures us with Vitamin K, C and B, fiber, folate, magnesium and more!

Carrots feed us Vitamin K, A, C, and B, antioxidants, iron, potassium and more!

IMG_2599.jpg

Tomatoes enrich us with Vitamin C and K, folate, reduced risk of heart disease and cancer!

IMG_2600.jpg
I pulsed fresh lime juice, red onion, cayenne pepper, Himalayan salt, garlic powder, cilantro and avocado to make this delicious guac! This really made the meal extra tasty.

IMG_2607.jpg
Eat the rainbow.

IMG_2610.jpg
Yummy and healthy! Food is my medicine.

Sort:  

This raw vegan wrap looks tasty.

Thank you! I really enjoyed it♡super easy and made great leftovers for my lunch the next day. The guacamole was what really made this dish extra yummy for me :)

Congratulations. This post is featured in the week's nunesso's Curation post for the Nutrition and Natural Products industry. You have received a 100% upvote from us.

https://steemit.com/natural-products/@nunesso/weekly-nunesso-natural-products-curation-10

Mama new best, we are what we eat! I am nowhere near ready to go raw Vegan. I love my beans and rice too much. Not to mention all of the health benefits you are losing from beans. Did you know that Latinos live 8% longer on average than White or Blacks. They attribute this to beans ;-)

I did not know that! I totally can relate, as I've grown up on rice and beans as well :) What I'm learning is that while beans, no doubt, have many nutritional benefits, they are extremely difficult to digest compared to fruits and veggies (and cause a lot of gas..) Before going raw, beans were a HUGE part of my diet and I would be in pain from the bloating in my stomach. We all have to find what works best for our bodies :) Thank you for sharing!!

I suppose we are all slightly different. If you want the facts about nutrition then I would make this website a favorite - https://nutritionfacts.org/

thanks! I'll check it out :)

Great post and awesome pics! I love acacodo too and only recently tbh after 1 1/2 years of being vegan. I think the longer you go vegan the more you love fruits and veg🤤

Thank you! Our taste buds do tend to adapt as we get older and open our minds :)

That avo looks PERFECT!! Your wrap looks so good, I'm sure it tasted amazing!

Yesss! Thank you♡it was pretty damn tasty!!

Aaah..that moment when you cut open a perfectly ripe avocado is such a sweet sensation, can anyone else relate?

I love a good, rich and thick avocado smoothie!

Optional: mix in some chocolate sauce for some added sin XD

Haha that looks tasty!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38