Sort:  

If you're around the whole week try to go on the Friday in the morning as there's a few extra stall holders on that day and a bit more life about the place. How long will you be staying in Paraty? Maybe I can recommend a few things to do. I'm actually back in Europe now, or otherwise I'd offer to meet up!

The market is open every day until about 3 or 4. Some days have more stall holders than others. UNfortunately the Paraty authorities throw all their money into a few limited tourism channels and aren't very supportive of local agriculture. It seems to be very short-shighted and not very in tune with the times as I am sure initiatives such as farm to table and farm visits and experiences etc would be very popular with a certain sector of the tourists who are seeking authentic experiences.

Thank you! We'll be staying in Trindade 5 days, then Ilha Grande and then back to Paraty for just 1 night before we head back home. You've been very helpful!

Oh I love Trinidade, always feels like I'm on holidays when I go there. Hope you try out the surfing. I never actually made it to Ilha Grande but everyone says it's amazing. Have fun! x

Hey Kate.
I was wondering if you are still working out of paraty?
A friend and I are planning on reviving the old resort on Praia vermelha, with the restaurant part being my responsibility, so I would love if you some day had time for a talk or even the possibility of taking a walk and teaching me a bit about what you have learned of wild food here in the area, so I can use it in the kitchen.
Kind regards.

Hello. I'm afraid I'm over in England at the moment. I can recommend Jorge Ferreira of Paraty if you want someone to take you out and teach you about wild food plants, he's very knowledgeable and friendly (but also very in demand so payment would be expected). Sounds like you've got a very exciting project on the go!

Thank you very much, I will try and look him up.

He's "Jorge Ferreira" of Bela Vista Ambientes on FaceBook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00