GettIng Into The Green Juice

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I've been getting more cardio in lately along with my yoga and have been craving something tasty and refreshing post workout. This green juice recipe is doing the trick. If you try it, let me know what you think!
Super Greens - 1 handful of each - baby spinach/baby kale/red and green chard
½ green apple
1 small pear
1 small zucchini
1 bundle of celery
1 medium cucumber
Fresh Mint - ¼ cup of each - peppermint/sweet mint/chocolate mint

image

Image Credit: April Lemieux

Sort:  

Super healthy. Heart disease is a metabolic disease caused by systemic inflammation due to bad diets. Green juices are wonderful to fight inflammation.

I agree @discernente! It's been my go to juice lately, so yummy!

Hello alemieux, I have also felt such cravings and also wondered how green it should be. Maybe I'd go for even greener, but I cannot judge yours other than it looks delicious and refreshing. When I'm looking for a snack I usually end up eating an apple and some lentils, I constantly wonder what the best food can be and I tend more and more to greens and fruit =) Thank you for sharing this.

You are welcome @beastieboy! Thank you for the feedback and suggestions. A friend of mine recently tried this recipe but substituted in ginger as he didn't have any mint. He said it turned out great. I love the versatility of green juices in that you can mix and match the fruit and veggies until you find your favorite combo. I try to have my veggie/herb ratio higher than my fruits as I don't like them super sweet. I've also been eating a red quinoa and red bean mix post workout that seems to give me an extra boost as well. Cheers!!

Congratulations @alemieux! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @alemieux! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
_Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @alemieux! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42