Cooking Tuesday X. Polvorosas

in #food7 years ago

Hi everyone! This week's recipe it's a Venezuelan dessert called "polvorosas". It was originated in the colonial period and it is a sweet cookie that melts in your mouth.

IMG_20170912_222949.jpg

Ingredients

  • 600 grams of flour
  • 500 grams of sugar
  • 500 grams of vegetable shortening
  • 4 egg yolks
  • One teaspoon of cinnamon

First preheat the oven at 350°C. Then mix all ingredients together in a bowl until it is a crumbly dough. Let it rest for half an hour before baking it.

IMG_20170912_210716.jpg

When the half an hour pass then knead it and form small balls. You can also extend it with a rolling pin and use a cookie cutter.

IMG_20170912_204409.jpgI was going to put a picture of the polvorosas with the Mickey Mouse form in the baking sheet before baking but I accidentally deleted the photo 😓

IMG_20170912_212929_edit_edit.jpg

Put the balls in a baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes (they must be white and not browned). When the polvorosas are ready sprinkle sugar on top to finish.

IMG_20170912_212109_edit_edit.jpg

IMG_20170912_222440.jpg

If you're not going to eat all of them yet then you can store them in a tin; they will last longer and be preserved better.

Note: you can't substitute the vegetable shortening with butter or margarine. The end result won't resemble a polvorosa (I say it out of experience 😳).


I hope you liked this recipe and try it at home :) Leave any question, improvement or request for a recipe you'd like to know for next week in the comments. Until next time!

Sort:  

I love anything that is made from scratch! Good job right here!

Yes, I don't like using box stuff, from scratch is always better :) Thank you so much!

Those look tasty! I like the Mickey Mouse ones :)

They are! The Mickey Mouse ones were for a party for a little girl (: I'm glad you liked them!

muy bueno, ideal para hacer en casa

Si, son muy fáciles de preparar! (:

Thanks for sharing !
I will try it today .
Upvoted!
By the way I have started following you I would appreciate your follow back and vote .
Thank you !

I'm very glad you liked it! Thank you so much, I'll check out your blog :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Great works, I wish you success
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Good post I would be very thankful if you please follow and upvote me thanks.This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @sanjeev.kapoor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55838.64
ETH 2285.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33