Cooking Tuesday II. Plantain Omelet

in #food7 years ago

Hi everyone! I would like to start off by saying that I believe we all have an addiction whether we admit it or not. Personally I don't mind admitting that I have an obsession with plantain. I love eating anything that is prepared with it; also I can't have lunch if it doesn't has plantain in it, otherwise I feel like something is missing. Today I will explain a recipe I made last week, plantain omelet.

IMG_20170712_115211.jpg

Ingredients

  • Three eggs
  • Salt
  • A quarter of an onion (optional)
  • Half a tomato (optional)
  • Cheese
  • Ham (optional)
  • A quarter of a plantain
  • Vegetable oil

First we'll fry the 'tajadas' (I don't think there's a word in English for it) that we will put inside the omelet. To make 'tajadas' we peel the plantain and cut it diagonally. Then we warm the vegetable oil in a pan (it must cover the bottom of it without it being too deep). After we put what we cut in the pan.

IMG_20170717_212626.jpg

We wait until they are cooked and flip them using a fork.

IMG_20170717_213658.jpg

Once they are cooked on both sides we take them out of the pan and we have our 'tajadas'.

While making the 'tajadas' we take another pan out and put a bit of vegetable oil in it to make the omelet. First we chop the onion in small pieces and fry them for a bit (if you do not want to add onion simply leave the oil heating and go through the next steps). Meanwhile we wash and crack the eggs in a small bowl or glass and we beat it with a fork until the yolk has broken and the liquid it's all yellow.

IMG_20170712_114639.jpg

Afterwards we chop the tomato. Once the onion has fried we put the beaten eggs on the pan.

IMG_20170712_113651.jpg

As soon as we finish pouring it we must add the chopped tomato, scattered all throughout the pan. I didn't add tomato because I don't like it but my family loves it. Then add salt to your taste, I scatter a pinch (what I can grab between my thumb and index finger) all over it. We wait a while for the omelet to cook and then we flip it.

IMG_20170712_113714.jpg

Once flipped we add the cheese, ham and 'tajadas' how it is shown in the picture below. I added three slices of cheese, one of ham and two big 'tajadas'.

IMG_20170712_113856.jpg

After one o two minutes we fold it in half and then fold it again in half, like the pictures below.

IMG_20170712_113922_edit_edit.jpg

IMG_20170712_113935.jpg

Using a spatula we take it out of the pan and we have finished our plantain omelet. If you do not want to add 'tajadas' you can mash the plantain and mix it with the beaten eggs before adding them to the pan. I haven't tried it but I think it would turn out fine. Although it might be more difficult to flip it without it breaking.

IMG_20170712_114454.jpg

Well this is all for today. I hope you liked this recipe and decide to try it out. If you have any question or improvement to the recipe do not hesitate to put it in the comments below. Goodnight!

Sort:  

Interesting recipe and it look tasty yummy!!!!!

Thank you, I'm glad you liked it (:

This Paleo Plantain #Omelet recipe is sweet, easy and really filling. It has the protein you need to get your wheels turning - http://www.paleoeffect.com/paleo-diet-recipes/paleo-plantain-omelet/

What an exotic, yet very simple recipe ;)

Thank you :)

This looks delicious...thanks for sharing

OMG! I love!! If you can visit my recipes post I would appreciate it, I hope you like it!

Thank you, I will check it out :)

Wow, this looks so yummy! So trying this! Thank you for sharing :)

Thank you! I hope you like it once you try it (:

Oh, I'm sure I will! I love anything with plantains :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41