Food Fest........... For Sushi Lovers :)

in #food6 years ago

Cauliflower rice sushi rolls are a delicious take on a traditional white rice sushi roll. Cauliflower chopped until fine and is then mixed with nutty tahini and sweet maple syrup, and wrapped with avocado, asparagus and cucumber. A light dinner treat for a night in.

5-Cauliflower-Rice-Sushi+_+www.8thandlake.com.jpg

The night started as many SF outings do, with a few taps to the horn, signaling a prompt arrival. I hopped down the flight of stairs in haste, since I knew ahead of time that sushi is where we were headed. I opened the car door and scooted into the seat and gave my dear friend a long embrace before we made our way to the restaurant. Noticing that we were just circulating the same four blocks from my house, I pulled out my phone to Google maps the directions, but no we don’t need that she reassured me, because we've arrived. I looked out the car window and to my right, there it was. Carved out of a tiny alley, with a laundry mat on one side and a bus stop on the other, with a leafy tree shading the entrance, was a hidden sushi bar. I was taken aback. After many walks down the same block, not once did the florescent ‘open’ signage hanging from the darkened rectangular window catch my gaze. As we walked past the open doors, we’re greeted by the owner with a warm embrace that only comes from years of a loyal following.

So here we are, sitting by the window, with a cup of earthy green tea in one hand and eyes fixed on the passerby’s who unconsciously stroll past the same window as I always did. This spot quickly became a favorite of mine in the city. One that’s just hidden enough from the masses, holding onto its neighborhood charm.

And for the days that the sushi bar is closed I make this – a Cauliflower Rice Sushi Roll. Cauliflower rice is swirled with nutty tahini and a drizzle of maple syrup giving it a punchy flavor that works so well with the roasted and raw veggies. So when your neighborhood spot is closed for the night just pick up a caluliflrower head and have at it - a scrumptious roll that is light on the tummy but bold in flavor.

2-Cauliflower-Rice-Sushi+_+www.8thandlake.com.jpg

Cauliflower-Rice-Sushi+_+www.8thandlake.com.jpg

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

After many walks down the same block, not once did the florescent ‘open’ signage hanging from the darkened rectangular window catch my gaze.
It should be fluorescent instead of florescent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57797.87
ETH 3067.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29