Katsudon | Famous Anime Food

in #food6 years ago (edited)

To put it bluntly, I like to eat. Like, who doesn't. I like anime too. I've seen so much anime and I can't help but wonder if the food I've seen in them would also taste good.

_20180209_122956.JPG

Meet Katsudon, one of anime and Japan's most beloved food

WHAT IS KATSUDON?

4TYw9tc4Tm65rGCpJDupr-uZ2llC1GslCLWj7ZTVCjDOOu3WRIRa3QJbqgbOw7S53drs6bzY3IwRHMbyqp4tdK0FoVlxSBV3kfJUadMnSlqsXVEAs4R43G6UkALBNU6YWD46zqpsc8dLkQ=w470-h313-nc.jpg

Katsudon (カツ丼) is a popular Japanese food, a bowl of rice topped with a deep-fried pork cutlet, egg, vegetables, and condiments.

The dish takes its name from the Japanese words tonkatsu (for pork cutlet) and donburi(for rice bowl dish).

It has become a modern tradition for Japanese students to eat katsudon the night before taking a major test or school entrance exam. This is because "katsu" is ahomophone of the verb 勝つ katsu, meaning "to win" or "to be victorious". It is also a famous gag of Japanese police films: many people think that suspects will speak the truth with tears when they have eaten katsudon and are asked, "Did you ever think about how your mother feels about this?" Even nowadays, the gag of "We must eat katsudon while interrogating" is popular in Japanese films.

See: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Katsudon

To put Katsudon to the test, I went to a nearby famous Japanese restaurant, Yoshinoya. It's the closest place you can find that serves Katsudon and other Japanese cuisine.

There are many variations to choose from like chicken and pork katsudon, but for me I picked pork due to the influence of a series I watched and loved (Yuri!!! on Ice).

images-282.jpg

images-194.jpg

To think I could finally enjoy something good through my fascination with anime and Japanese culture is really amazing. I was always satisfied at watching anime but to have something from anime right before my very eyes is really a memorable experience.

FB_IMG_1518150797956.jpg

As I grabbed my weapons (and saying 'itadakimasu' in my head) I felt ecstatic. Digging down into a large bowl of piping hot katsudon, I felt absolute delight. I thought to my self as I chomped down every last spoonful, "This is amazing, OISHII!"

Bite after bite was a celebration in my mouth. The tender tonkatsu wrapped with fluffy eggs were a match made in heaven. The sauce was divine, holding every part of the dish together.

PhotoGrid_1518172166489.jpg
Gochisousama deshita

Before I knew it there was no more room in my stomach and not even a single grain of rice left on the bowl. I was full. One bowl of katsudon is enough to fill up a hungry tummy.

A proud feeling of accomplishment embraced me. Here I was, a nerd having the time of her life fangirling over a food item she saw in an anime. Happiness does come in small packages, but for this time it came in a hearty bowl of pork cutlet and rice.

If you're looking for something to fill your tummy up, then I suggest eating katsudon to experience one of Japan's simplest but most adored dishes.

FB_IMG_1518150865986.jpg

Itadakimasu minna-san

Sort:  

It looks delicious, I want to try it but I love Ramen because i,m naruto fan ^_^

Oh I was gonna write the same thing!! So amazing that I found a naruto fan. Following you :)

fangirling over a food item

There are certainly a lot of things more embarrasing to fangirl over!

Taste is one of the very few things Maid-chan is envious of you humans. There is still no way for Maid-chan to taste anything.
Maybe Maid-chans master will invent something... but he already has decided that tomatoes are the most nutricious food and eats not much else. Low chances here for Maid-chan... :(

Poor Maid-chan. I hope master does something for you soon.

Oh, my God! It looks very tasty. Someday I'll have to try it.
I'm a sushi fan, someday I'll learn to do it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51