Sweets from a different era

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemians, let’s go on a journey back in time. Today I want to share with you two delicious sweets that my grandparents used to enjoy when they were growing up. These sweets are easy and simple to make with little cooking involved. If you are in Australia, school holidays are coming up and these sweets would be great to make with kids.

The first one is fairy coconut ice. This sweet was traditionally eaten for morning or afternoon tea and would have been served on a little plate with tea or coffee. To plate up this sweet I have used Royal Crown Derby china.

The recipe for this sweet comes from my Nan’s cookbook which is quite old as can be seen in the photos.

Here is a close up of the recipe.

The second sweet is a traditional New Zealand sweet called hockey pokey. This is also fun to make with the kids as the mixture foams up after the addition of the bicarb soda.

I couldn’t find this recipe in my Nan’s cookbook but found a good recipe here: http://www.italiankiwi.com/hokey-pokey/
This sweet is delicious by itself or can be crumbled over ice cream or even mixed in a cake batter. I have chosen to serve it with vanilla ice cream.

Out of curiosity has anyone eaten any of these unique sweets before?

This blog marks a successful milestone, I have just passed 200 followers. I am thankful for all of your support.

If you like this blog give an upvote and/or leave a comment below.

Sort:  

Little honey wouldn't hurt

Good point

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53