My Food Memories: Nan's Bacon and Egg Pie

in #food7 years ago

Hello Steemit,

Today I want to share with you one of my food memories growing up. It is my Nan’s bacon and egg pie. Recreating this simple, tasty and easy to make pie has evoked nostalgic memories of visiting my Nan as a child.


Nan and I

Unfortunately my Nan doesn’t cook anymore because of health complications. I had trouble recreating the exact recipe as my Nan didn’t remember. However I think what I created is pretty close.

This recipe serves 6

Ingredients:
16 eggs
1 cup of cream
250g bacon
2 tbsp parsley
3 tomatoes
1 brown onion
2 tbsp parmesan cheese
Black pepper
2 sheets of puff pastry

Method:

  1. Line a tin with foil and spray with canola oil

    This is the same tin that my Nan used. The good thing about this particular tin is that it slides apart so removing the bacon and egg pie is easy.

  2. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius

  3. Place the puff pastry over the foil

  4. Roughly dice the onion and bacon and fry for a few minutes

  5. Whisk the egg, cream, parsley and cheese then season with black pepper

  6. Spread the bacon and onion mixture around the bottom of the pan

  7. Pour in the egg and cream mixture

  8. Slice tomatoes and place on top of the pie

  9. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes

    One thing I love about this pie is the lovely, golden, flaky, thin pastry.

    This is typically a lunch dish. My Nan would serve it with a fruit platter including mandarins, pears and grapes as well as bread and gourmet cheese. I chose to have it on its own with homemade orange and lemon juice. Notice my dog in the background. Like most dogs, she will appear whenever someone has food.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53