Cooking At Home: Tom Yum Soup

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody. Today I would like to show you how you can make Thai Tom Yum soup with shrimps. This soup, which derives its flavor from the unique blend of spices, can be a great addition to your menu.

Tom Yam soup.jpeg

Ingredients:

650 g shrimps, medium sized

8 cups of water

1 lime fruit with 6 leaves

5 tablespoons of peanuts

1 small cup of mushrooms

1 small cup of lemongrass

1 small cup of chopped green onion

1 small cup of coriander

1 small cup of ginger

2 Thai chili peppers

2 tablespoons of roasted red chili paste

1 tablespoon of fish sauce

Clean and peel the shrimps, separating the meat from the shells. Put the shells in 5 cups of water and cook for 1 hour. Drain and keep the liquid while discarding the shells. Add the remaining water and bring to boil. After the broth boils, reduce the heat to low and add ginger, lemongrass, and lime leaves. Stir on low heat for ten minutes. Drain again, keeping the broth and throwing away the cooked solid bits. Now add chili peppers, chili paste, mushrooms and fish sauce and boil again. Reduce the heat to medium and add shrimps, coriander, and green onions. Keep stirring on medium heat until the shrimps are cooked. Remove from the stove and add lime juice and peanuts.

Your spicy Thai Tom Yum soup with shrimps is now ready. Bon appetit!

*Image rights belong to me

Sort:  

very good :) i will also try this recipe its amazing @afrosiab
kindly visit my blog and keep upvoting m new here :)

Thank you, hope you will like it

My favourite Thai soup. I love it with lots of mushrooms! Thank you for sharing your recipe

Thanks for your regular comments! )

I love good food and your posts always give me cravings haha. Feeling hungry now and it's well past dinner time (almost bedtime)

This is my favorite soup! When I rest in Vietnam or Thailand , I eat it every day. I tried to cook it at home, but I failed, I even bought a special set for this soup in the store. I hope, that following the recipe, I will cook a real Tom Yum)

Better always use fresh ingredients. I don't like ready-to-use sets as they are composed from artificial additives mostly...

Is it possible to change recipe like from shrimps to Chicken? Actually my father does not like shrimps but the recipe is so yummy so I am eager to try it. Obviously it will not remain "Tom Yum Soup" but will come "something Else soup" :D

Sure you could. But chicken should be cooked for slightly longer time

I love this soup!
Ordered the Tom Yam paste and the seasoning, wait)

Looks appetizing). I really love shrimp.

Again this looks delicious. I too make Tom Yum...this is a different recipe than mine...I will give this one a go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55