The Best Swedish Homemade "IKEA" Meatballs

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Hi All Steemians! Hope everybody are doing well which I can't say today about me ....
Truly, I have horrible hangover today, so I decided cook something richfully tastefull :) I think every single person has awful junk food cravings as me during hangover.

Let me know what is yours "craving" during hangover day! :)

20171021_200654.jpg

Let's get jump into recipe!

We will need:

20171021_174647.jpg

600 grams ground beef
¼ cup panko bread crumbs
1 tablespoon parsley - I used dried one, but fresh one is better
¼ teaspoon ground nutmeg
¼ cup onion - finely chopped
½ teaspoon Garlic Powder or Garlic Salt
⅛ teaspoon Pepper
½ teaspoon salt
1 egg
1 tbsp. Sunflower oil - sorry I forgot to add to the photo :)
5 tbsp. butter
3 tbsp. flour
2 cups beef broth
1 cup double cream - I decided for extra thick but classic one will work as well
1 Tablespoon Worcester sauce
1 tsp. Dijon mustard

On the photo is Black whole pepper but I have no idea why I added it there.... Silly Steemian :)

INSTRUCTIONS

1, In a medium sized bowl mix ground beef, bread crumbs, parsley, nutmeg, onion, garlic powder, pepper, salt and egg.
Mix until combined.
2, Roll into small meatballs, I had approx 35. In a large skillet heat oil and 1 Tablespoon butter.
Add the meatballs and cook turning continuously until brown on each side and cooked throughout -
-max 5 minutes from each side
Transfer to a plate and we are done with meatballs.

20171021_182854.jpg

SAUCE:
3, Add 4 Tablespoons butter and flour to skillet and whisk until it turns brown.
First, slowly stir in beef broth and then double cream.

4, Add worchester sauce and dijon mustard and bring to a simmer until sauce starts to thicken.
You can add salt and pepper to taste if you want to but I didn't use any

5, Add the meatballs back to the skillet and simmer for another 1-2 minutes.
I served it with mash potatoes but you can serve over rice or noodles too

ENJOY!!!

20171021_200654.jpg

Sort:  

Yum! that's quite ball Z lol Looks great with the Spuds ~ can I come over for dinner?

If you're in UK ;)

Congratulations @adrianasteems! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31