Steemit032 Free Recipe Giveaway #2 - Filipino Spaghetti (my own version)

in #food7 years ago

5.jpg

Italians don't cringe! I'm going to talk about the Filipino "Spaghetti". I know a lot of you are triggered when these two words are combined, especially it's white counterpart, the Filipino "Carbonara". I remember one Italian said, call it whatever you want. You can say, the Filipino White Creamy Pasta but don't use "CARBONARA"!

COMPARISON

Just correct me if I'm wrong, according to what I know, the original Carbonara recipe doesn't have cream and the traditional Italian Spaghetti recipe doesn't have meat. It's so different from what we've grown to know. The Filipino style is a little sweet and doesn't have herbs. It does include hotdogs and mushrooms. There are plenty of variations even with the Filipino style but what I will share is my own version.

Based on my readings and research, one the speculations is that the spaghetti actually originated from China in the form of rice "noodles" and not the modern pasta that we know today. The Chinese traders supposedly brought the "noodles" to Italy where most of the story is lost in transalation.

HISTORY

It's a pretty common and easy recipe that probaby 99% of the Filipinos already know how to make. But hey, this is Steemit and we have a lot of brothers and sisters around the world that do not know this type of food even exists!

So, here is the 2nd Steemit032 Recipe Giveway: The Filipino Spaghetti

Ingredients:

3.jpg

1 pound spaghetti noodles
3 cloves minced garlic
1 small minced onion
about 2 tablespoons cooking oil
1/4 - 1/2 kilo ground pork or beef (depends how much meat you want)
650g Filipino Style Spaghetti Sauce, add around 250g of regular tomato sauce for 1/2kl meat
Cooked sliced hotdogs
Canned mushrooms
cheddar cheese for topping

Instructions

For the Pasta

  • Cook noodles as per package instruction or follow the universal procedure in boiling spaghetti noodles and set aside.

For the Sauce

  • Heat the cooking oil and saute the garlic and onion. Wait until the onion turns translucent and the garlic to be golden brown.

8.jpg

  • Add ground meat until it is brown and the juices have gone out at around 8-10 minutes.
  • Season with salt and pepper to taste

7.jpg

  • Add in the tomato sauce, let it simmer for around 15 minutes and add the hotdogs and mushrooms

1.jpg
2.jpg

Serve the pasta topped with the sauce and grated cheese.

10.jpg

There you go! I hope you like my recipe. Send me a feedback if you've tried it.

Sort:  

Wow i want! 🤤🤤🤤

hahah i'll leave some for you if you can teleport here

Hahaha! I wish I can. I'll just dream of it na lang. 😅

Looks yummy!

looks good and tastes even better @linchybaby :D

Indeed! I can imagine!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ablaire to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Looks easy and delish! Imma try this at home! Thanks for the recipe!

Wow so yummy! :)

Thank you for the appreciation!

I still prefer filipino style spaghetti over italian spag anytime. 😊

Oh yes definitely! Thanks for the support kabayan.

OMG I love your post! Amazing info, flawlessly written! Contratulations, I will keep following you :D

Will follow u back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48