Chicken and Broccoli in Oyster Sauce

in #food7 years ago

Chicken and Broccoli in Oyster Sauce



2018-02-08_07-07-34.jpg

This stir-fry dish is not usual is my country, the Philipines. The most common kind of combination is beef and broccoli. However, beef is more expensive and takes longer to cook so I looked for alternatives. I decided to do a chicken and broccoli stir-fry in oyster sauce instead.

Oyster sauce is traditonally made by boiling oysters and a combination of seasonings which produce a very tasty dark thick and rich liquid. Despite the name, there's no seafood taste to it due to the boiling process. This sauce is used in a wide variety of Chinese dishes and other Asian cuisines.

This is a simple recipe and the ingredients are minimal.

2018-02-08_07-09-07.jpg

INGREDIENTS

For the meat marinade:

  • 1 lb chicken fillet
  • 3 cloves garlic, sliced
  • salt and pepper

For the oyster sauce mixture

  • 3 1/2 tbsp oyster sauce
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/8 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 or 2 tbsp cornstarch

1 bunch broccoli, cut the tops into thinly sliced florets

PROCEDURE

Marinate the chicken in the mixture and set aside for 10 minutes.

2018-02-08_07-09-56.jpg

Blanch the broccoli (boil for about 2 minutes, when the color turns vibrant green) and put them into an ice bath to prevent overcooking.

2018_0208_18423100.jpg

Heat 2 tbsps of cooking oil and stir-fry the chicken until tender and golden brown.

2018_0208_18443900.jpg

Pour in the oyster sauce mixture until thickened. Add in the broccoli and stir until the meat is well coated. You are ready to serve!

2018-02-08_07-10-42.jpg

Did you like this dish? Let me know in the comment section below.

Sort:  

ni eat kog bahaw ug bam.i after ko nag post. gi gutom kog maau pag human samuka.

Gigutom jd ko ng tan aw lami kaau ang broccoli tan awn

I am gutom

Lol
. nice post

hahahs sorry. thanks for dropping by :) im following you now.

I love stir fried broccoli

same here! thanks for visiting. i appreciate it. 😊

I never tried it.

Maybe we could try that

Game?

I'm so jealous right now...

Great format, great pictures. Grade A. Bet it tasted amazing too!

i made myself hungry after posting it. i went to the kitchen and ate some leftovers at 1:58 am. thanks for checking out my post.

@ablaire, you are killing me with your delicious-looking recipes and pictures of all this good food! I am going to try making this one. I love oyster sauce, and am needing ideas to shake up my dinner menu a bit.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 11 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

Thanks for posting this.
Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63733.51
ETH 2629.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83