You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts On Food Documentary 'What The Health' Don't Fall for Cartoon Narratives

in #food7 years ago

Fair points on the good v evil narrative, but for me, it's about time it was laid out in black and white. I've been too ignorant and stupid in the past and ignored any health/animal/environmental issues that eating meat/dairy can bring, and this was the kick up the arse i needed.

With regards to the debunking:

I'm a week into veganism and i feel pretty bloody good about it so far!

Sort:  

Yes I can really get where you're coming from. I've been vegan for the last 11 months mainly because the shakes I drink are either whey protein based or pea/soy protein. Noticed that the whey messes with my stomach and makes me pretty gassy. No such thing with pea/soy protein.

This debunk is pretty good. Like I said I'm not a fan of Dr. Z way of loud mouthing. It's does not come across that smart. But one size fits all diet IS super tricky to claim.

Another thing that comes to mind now is the woman in the film who walks with support and is on tons of medicine. She goes on a vegan diet and feels amazing. What was her diet before? Did she eat any veggies at all?? If you come from shit and all of a sudden get lots of good, DUH you're gonna feel better. My point is that diet is so important. You need to get a balanced nutritional intake. Vegan is just an option. If you don't know what your doing you could be eating Vegan on brown rice and Broccoli only. You're gonna get some issues health wise.

Well done on reaching 11 months, i'm going to need to start on the shakes with added pea/soy protein i think. Been doing a few sums and reaching 100 or so grams of protein a day, without a fat-ass steak or some chicken, seems quite tricky!

Pretty sure the women on the supports, and the other big lass were eating lard n chips and drinking coke all day! If you've been eating your greens along with your meat all your life, the change is going to be much more subtle - but should be easier to sustain, i hope!

Thanks for the long reply! Lets continue our quest for clean living and awesomeness :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61137.27
ETH 2383.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52