Venezuelan Arepas, description, recipe and photos that will make you want one now!

in #food7 years ago

Venezuelan arepas

In this post I will tell you about the food of my country Venezuela. Venezuelan food is known in the world for variety of flavors and good combinations. But in today's post I will tell you specifically about the famous AREPAS.

Arepa.jpg

The Venezuelan arepa is one of the main dishes of the country, you can eat as a companion to a main meal or you can eat as a main course at breakfast and dinner. It is usually stuffed with ingredients such as meat, white cheese, yellow cheese, ham, cheese wheeze and other ingredients.

The flour used to make them is precooked corn flour, and can be found in almost any part of the world with the name of PAN FLOUR.

Harina_PAN_hecha_en_USA.jpg

The way to prepare is the following: In a container we pour the amount of flour wanted, we add a pinch of salt and soon we pour water and we mix until obtaining a homogeneous mixture. Heat a previously oiled pan so they do not stick and place the dough to achieve the following shape:

P8080245.JPG

We must cook it to medium heat and be outstanding so that they do not burn. It is also important to clarify that you must toast on both sides. (I clarify this even if it is obvious).

And after they are ready we can fill them to taste, with butter and any of the ingredients I mentioned at the beginning. If everything goes well it should look like this:

arepa-rellena-pollo.jpg

980x.jpg

I hope you will use my recipe and they liked it, if they wish they can follow me and give me upvote.

FollowMe-Logo-sm.gif

steemit-logo-C8ECB02BBF-seeklogo.com.png

Sort:  

Beautiful photography, Thank you for posting

thank you too for the comment

these look so good, they look like stuffed paninis

Many thanks you have to try them are great.

They are not only eaten in Venezuela, they are also a every day dish in Colombia... yummy now I want some !

hi @maleja Yes, you are correct, but the ones they do in Colombia are very different, they are also very tasty.

I wouldn't say they are very different! Is the same flour, same shape and the only difference is that the filling is coming on top and not in between ;-). But anyway I think both variations are delicious !

very good fotos, tasty! - I know arepa, and they are just that tasty! congrats! did u take the pics?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51