🔥Steemit Record Pool |Traditional song - Ederlezi | +my version at the bottom 🎤🎵🎻

in #folk7 years ago (edited)

Since i lack the time to record something right now i thought it would be a great idea to make a short post of another song i adore for @djlethalskillz "Steemit Record Pool. While I am at it, i decided to test out @dtube a bit and see its ability to switch around tags with a post that isnt too risky for me.
Im seriously considering using it for my future #openmic entries (since it is allowed by the rules as long as you add a embed youtube link).

Yes... The song i was about to talk about.
The song is called "Ederlezi". The song got its name from, well obviously, "Ederlezi", a Spring festival that celebrates the return of springtime, celebrated especially by the Romani people in the Balkans and elsewhere around the world. Ederlezi is the Romani name for the Bulgarian, Macedonian and Serbian Feast of Saint George. Ederlezi would be translated to the name "Đurđevdan" in Croatian or Serbian, which essentially means the same thing.

Over the years there have been many covers or interpretations of the song, the most known version in Croatia being that of the band called "Bijelo Dugme" ("White Button" in english) that were one of the most popular bands in Ex-Yugoslavia during the 1980s. Their later period, im not a fan of but their legendary status in ex-yu music cannot be omitted. One of their comeback concerts in 2005 attracting more then 200 000 people. Considering that the population of all the ex-yu countries numbers less then 20 million people (their core audience) this was a huge achievement.

Goran Bregović's version titled "Ederlezi" was used in Emir Kusturica's movie "Time of the Gypsies", which made the song famous around the world (famous might be an overstatement ). It was performed by the Macedonian singer Vaska Jankovska, whose unique voice contributed to its success.

There have been various interpretations by Turkish and Bulgarian singers but since im not familiar with them ill just stick to those closer to home. A curious fact being that even Sacha Baron Cohen used it in the movie "Borat" where he connects it to traditional music of Kazakhstan.

The origins of the song are hard to determine just like with many other folk songs. "How old is it? Who wrote it? Who originally performed it?"
All these questions will remain unanswered which in one part adds to its status. All that needs to be said is that its a song beloved all over Ex-Yu countries and into eastern regions.

I liked this song so much that i perform it with my band. I take a bit of a different, "pop sounding" approach. The song is very versatile in this regard leaving many room for interpretation. No 2 interpretations are alike and even though my importance in the bigger picture is negligible, i like to think that i was able to add my twist to the rich history of this already legendary song. This song along with possibly a handful more, we consider the peak of our set-list playing live.
For some kind of basis for my interpretation i went to another singer, "Besa Kokedhima" from Albania and her version that i found to be the closest to what i wanted to achieve.

Listening to various versions (even my own) you can see the various significant differences but the core always stays the same. Emotion and the beauty of the piece is still palpable no matter your singing technique or the genre of music you try to set it in. If you look hard enough you can even find metal versions of it. (although that can be said for many popular songs)
"If it sounds amazing add some metal to it!"

I considered for some time if i would try to add it to the record pool since it is a song with a language barrier and a sound unfamiliar to the western world. (without translation, even i wouldnt know what the lyrics were, and ive sung it at least a 150 times, hehe)

Feel free to listen to any of the interpretations, My own will be linked to dtube bellow.
Disclaimer: I have already posted this as my second post 2 months ago, when i was still completely unknown and unfamiliar to the platform, and the video (i consider one of the more work-intensive we created) netted, you guessed it, 0,00$. haha..

Enjoy and keep on Steeming!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

rsz_1onlylogo.png

DQmY51imq4fuAUAtgT7hxPhpWQV193EmWgSVw9YbMXV5Dxu.gif

Sort:  

Are you freaking kidding me? How in the hell did that earlier post earn 0. Honestly, I love this type of music and this is by far the best from you for me.

This is definitely not an easy song to sing by all means. And, you knocked it out of the park. I truly enjoyed listening to it. Amazing. :)

Thank you for sharing. I think I will listen to it a couple more times today. :)

Haha. Well you must love loud noises then..
Its a difficult one to sing but not overly. Takes a bit of getting used to for the singer, that more then anything. 😁

No I kind of like the spiritual ones. Like you are going on an adventure or something. lol Well, I guess like me trying to do a different move on the basketball court. It takes little time to get used to it. The same with your voice adapting to this song. :)

You should try being a musician. The frame of thinking is very similar to playing basketball. Same amount of commitement, practice and a love for the "sport". 😁

You've made the song your own. You've put your personal touch to it. I like the feel of pop you put in there. It gives a more lively approach to it. The violin is a nice touch too. It's like listening to different genres in one song. Great voice!

Is there a particular reason why you kept the blue color?

Thank you. ❤
Well we thought it was a cool effect. It still gave us everything black and white filter gives you but with a touch of life to it. Black and white filters often take away all the "color" from the performance so we tried and offset that with a little bit of blue.

That indeed.

I first heard this song in The Turkish Gambit, a Russian film from 2000s, thought it was so cool I even asked my cousin to burn it on my CD-RW since I didn't have the internet access myself. But I never gave much thought to the origin of the song or its story and wow this was very interesting to read. Not to mention when I saw your own performance so nicely recorded and captured on camera, I mean guys, this is gold, why isn't it on YouTube? Or is it?

Thanks man. It is actually on youtube. Has a few hundred views but you know how hard it is to make a video hit numbers above a few hundred. It took us a lot of time to make this and in the end the reward really wasnt worth it to start making these kind of videos frequently. We are amateurs in video production so there were a lot of mistakes and the video editing took time.
You can see we left a jacket on the ground where i play the violin. Silly stuff.
Not the editing itself but rather learning to work premiere pro.
Since Steemit offers so much more opportunity then youtube im considering putting a bit more time in my videos.
I started it a little bit with Schindlers list. The filter, and the transitions a nice black border on the video.
Nothing crazy, but slowly getting into it again and improving with time.

Oh and dont forget to check your discord😁

Yeah, this is probably the best song I heard you sing, you nailed it honey! 💚

Wow, you have voice of an angel!

❤😁 thank you..

It's the truth❤

your post is very good, I follow you, may be useful for my rank.

gawd. how i love that song... makes me cry a bit.

Hehe. Dont cry. 😁

sounds great. can i ask, why selective color?

Because we knew how to do it. 😂
Its a cool effect. Haha

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

I love this! Your voice is amazing, and your guitar player has great technique too. The quality of the recording and video is top notch, too! All around great job guys. Always love your violin playing, as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57