People who lack discipline and focus should learn to draw.

in #focus6 years ago (edited)

just-human-joshua-shortridge.jpg

(artwork by Joshua Shortridge, prints available here )

Drawing is a meditative discipline.

It’s something often overlooked, especially by those who do not draw, but is something I experience every single day. It is most apparent to me when I am working on something that requires a split focus, such as a figure study. While one works on a figure study, they must divide their attention between their piece, and their subject. In order to maintain accuracy the artist must constantly switch between these points of focus.

While drawing, splitting of focus is a force of will.

It is at this point where the meditative qualities of drawing become the most obvious. When you are fully in your rhythm you’ll often find yourself forgetting to examine your subject. Your focus becomes singular. You’re one with your drawing, and your drawing begins to reflect your impression of the subject rather than the subject itself. And what does meditation do? What is it’s purpose? Meditation focuses the mind. You learn to drown out the noise of your own thoughts and concentrate.

Drawing requires neither the Ohm’s nor the guru to guide you.

Now, I am not knocking spirituality. But that is a strong element in most forms of meditation, and is something that keeps people away from the discipline who would surely benefit from it.

Drawing has done so much for me, I think it can help you too.

I have struggled with concentration my entire life. And yet now, at the early age of 24 years old, I feel like I’ve begun to grasp a certain degree of mastery over it. I have been focused on improving my artwork with a savage dedication for the last 3 years. Something completely unheard of within my own life. Suddenly, I find i can focus on anything. I can finish books in one sitting, watch movies without missing anything, hold conversations and actually listen to people. I could write an entire article on how drawing has positively impacted my life outside of the discipline. In fact, I think I will.

See you next time.

Your friend,

Joshua Shortridge

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38