You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: <deleted>

in #flynn7 years ago

Thanks. Forgive me if this is a naive question, but I have just joined this site and this is my first post. Not long after writing it, I noticed it had been "hidden due to low ratings" yet I only see one person listed who downvoted it. Does this site work the same way as reddit and twitter where it is considered reprehensible to post anything that offends people's delicate sensibilities?

Sort:  

Here, there are things that weigh out how much influence how much a downvote (flag) has; reputation and steem power.

they guy that flagged you has low rep, so his flag didn't affect your own reputation

BUT he has a LOT of Steem Power, so he has a) killed the visibility of your post and b) killed the monetary value of your payout

IF you were to get more votes with Steem Power over his, it would balance his effect out.

I'm sorry you got flagged; it happens sometimes.

Socially speaking here, it's a breach of etiuette to flag for disagreement or to flag w/o explanation.

Spam and plagiarism will get you flagged (sometimes w/o explanation); fi you copied your post from somewhere else that would have got you flagged. (not accusing you of that, just saying)

good info. nothing in my post was copied from anywhere so I'll assume the flagger simply didn't like the content. still, it reflects poorly on the site if they allow people to hide other's posts that easily.

it is a bone of contention that some take further than others.

there is a source to fight flag spam, let me look that up and get back to you (basically some Steemers may upvote a post that has been unfairly flagged)

being that it is someone named 'iflagtrash' with no content of their own, it looks as though they dumped a bunch of money into it to buy up steem power and are using the account for censorship. I don't really mind, I'll just keep posting. thanks for the info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28