My Horse Has Been Dead For Two Years. Time To Get Off.

in #flying6 years ago

I woke up today to a new sunrise at the threshold of my seventy-ninth winter.

“It would be a great day for a ride,” I thought.

By the end of the day the ride hadn’t come.

You keep on keeping on. Hope and resiliency won’t let you quit.

You always wake up to a new sunrise with expectations in your heart.

You always postpone the inevitable.

But when the stench of rotting flesh finally hits your nostrils, well, it pushes you off the carcass and you bury it with tender love and pride.

There, I found myself still stuck on the saddle and proceeded to assess the reality of life.

My horse was dead. It had been dead for two years. It was time to get off of it and bury it with dignity.

He served me well, my stallion. Strong, fearless, he took me beyond the realm of the possible, jumping over obstacles as if he’d been running a steeple-chase. He won me many races.

He gave me courage while riding him and feeling the pulsing in his veins; a thoroughbred for sure.

I am still strong. I could find a replacement but would I be satisfied? There would always be comparisons.
No. My voice is still strong but show business is dead.

Goodbye, my strong and faithful servant.

WAIT! WAIT! This is way too melodramatic.

Does that mean I’m going to lie down and die alongside my horse? NO! No, I say.

There is another dream yet to be fulfilled. I’m going to take my wings and fly. That’s why I hold two commercial pilot licenses: Canada and United States.

“I will step into the field of all possibilities and anticipate the excitement that can occur when I remain open to an infinity of choices. When I step into that field of infinite possibilities I will experience all the excitement, magic and mystery of life.” ~ Author unknown

Yes. That’s what I will do. I will become a flight instructor. I will keep my mind alert. I will follow my other passion, the one I gave up 46 years ago for show business. It will keep me excited, open new vistas and keep me vital and strong.

And I won't be chasing the money any longer.
Gino@EMT 11.21.06.JPG 500x375.jpg

Fly Me To The Moon!

         © Gino Federici 2018

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43