I Don’t Know How To Be Old! I’m Not Very Good At It.

in #flying5 years ago

I must admit it; I am a failure at it. I’m running my life backwards.

Something I should have done in my twenties I am now doing while approaching my eighties.

The more I think about it, the crazier it sounds.

But it’s not crazy at all. Should age impose parameters on dreams?

My wife tells me that she knows of only one person who was able, like me, to make his childhood dreams come true.

It’s not easy to know what you want to do or become when you are a young boy or girl.

I always knew I wanted to be a pilot and a singer. Not just a recreational pilot, but a professional one. Not just a recreational singer, but a professional one.

I achieved them both.

The craziest thing I ever did, though, was to decline a job as a pilot in order to go into show business. A decision I made while…unemployed!

Thank God I had a wife who supported me. “I’ll support you in whatever you choose to do,” she told me that day while staring at the letter offering me a job as a pilot.

The fear in my gut is still palpable today when I think about it.

But I went against all odds because the heart was singing a different tune. Long story; but I raised my family with singing. Forty six short, wonderful, traumatic years.

So, that day in 1972 I put my flying dream on hold. “I can always become a flight instructor while being a singer,” I surmised.

Well. Show business took some heavy lifting and the flight instructor fell by the wayside.

But no more! Like Oliver Wendell Holmes so aptly said: “ Old age is fifteen years older than I am.” In this day and age I would say it’s at least twenty years older than I am.

Flyers love acronyms. It’s a way to remember simple and complex tasks.

I’m branding myself as Papa Bravo!

Papa and Bravo are military codes for the letters P and B.

Papa stands for Preparing Another Pilot for Adventure, and Bravo stands for Because Retirement Affords Valuable Opportunities.

Of course, you can call me “papa” and pat me on the back to congratulate my achievement with a “bravo!”

That’s it. That’s my New Year’s resolution and I’m sticking with it.

I’ll report back next Christmas. I have a full year of serious study.

“We are young only once, after that we need some other excuse.” ~Author Unknown

And…that’s the way I see it.

© Gino Federici 2018

A Reflection

If I thought my dreams were unachievable
I’d have dug myself a grave
While still able to hold a shovel
Without puffing, or an ache.

If I thought my dreams were fancy
Rather than a certain fate,
I’d have said goodbye to dancing,
laughter, struggle and love, to date.

© Gino Federici 2018

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Congratulations @eaglevine! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56