You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Texas flu

in #flu7 years ago

Scary that they would give a shot without your knowledge! That is simply wrong!

I last had influenza 5 years ago - I remember because I was in bed for several days and took about two weeks to get over it (this is normal for influenza.) I looked up the symptoms, I had pretty much all of them - remembering that nausea/vomiting is not a symptom of this illness.
(Last time I had a shot was over 20 years ago now and I have had the illness once in that time, I think that's pretty good odds.)

They are now saying that this year's shot is 4% effective, if that... Your odds are better not having it - especially as people are starting to talk about the possibility that this year's injection is giving people the flu, not stopping it.

We should have had it, by all means, this year... because a good/close friend of ours just finished a week off work due to influenza. She had it bad (but she's also a smoker) and spent time in hospital. Yet, all we've had is a runny nose and a bit of a cough. Did we have flu? Probably not, but maybe we had something else to keep it away. Or maybe some of our other strategies were effective.

In any case, before you give another flu shot (or any shot, for that matter), ask for the package insert and READ it!!! It's often a rather shocking read. I will happily discuss the science behind the possibility of it working after they've cleaned up the ingredients.

Anyway, I hope yours are all well. (I haven't taken a kid to the doctor in... well... 5+ years except a required wellness check.) Mother of 6 talking here, only two at home now.

Take care and welcome to Steemit!
 

Sort:  

I really appreciate your reply, I too have heard about it being almost completely ineffective this year, but I am certain you are correct about the ingredients and I will use that idea next time I go, I have never thought to ask for the pamphlet, I will from here on! I am all for anything natural or organic that I can use or give in place of Pharmaceuticals, especially with my children! I do not reccomend the flu shot and generally do not get them for my children..to me this is almost proof that it causes more harm than good...and yes they are all good and well now but it has been a time! I am always open to new advice or recommendations from another mother! I will never know enough about being a mom! However it will always be my most enjoyable & rewarding job in this life! :)

My eldest - and most vaccinated - is my least-healthy (asthma and food allergies), my youngest - and unvaccinated - is definitely the sturdiest. I advocate becoming as informed as possible.

Our methods this year for avoiding illness?

  • onions cut up in various parts of the house (1/3 to 1/2 in a room)
  • supplementing with Vit C (1000mg a day, when I remember, lol), Vit D3 (a dropper full when I think about it - the therapeutic dose is worth a look-up as it's much higher than the RDA.)
  • bone broth to drink or to cook my rice in.
  • yerba mate tea to help mild symptoms.
  • other herbal teas.
  • my "vitamin C tea" which is based on sliced up citrus, raw honey, cinnamon to taste, herbal teas, oregon grape berries (great against streptococcus) maybe licorice root tea (great against staphylococcus) - elderberries and rose hips if you can get them, cranberries too... It's always different, but very full of healing things. I make a whole pitcher of it at once and encourage the kids to drink it.

Anyway, just a few ideas. I've been doing this job over 20 years now, and no, we'll never know enough, but we will do our best, and our kids will know it. :-)

You seem like a very good momma & an extremely cool person! I absolutely appreciate all your tips and am always open to new ideas! I am with you completely! As long as we do our best by our children & do all we can to keep them happy, healthy, educated & most importantly LOVED♡ then we are doing this parent thing right! Thank you so much for all your advice tips and ideas, I have only been a mom near 13 yrs(son), my middle daughter is 8 & my babygirl will be 4 in May, I feel like time goes way too fast! I wiah they would stay these ages forever-no matter how crazy they may make me at times, I wouldn't trade this for anything im the world!!

BTW, my account hits one month in a couple of days, and I will post something about what I've learned in this month - maybe some of it will help you.

The current epidemic does involve nausea and vomiting in quite a high % of cases but it’s been mostly (not totally) linked to the depth of coughing needed. This epidemic has had a really suffocating cough with vomiting whilst coughing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80