What IS a Weed?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #flowers6 years ago

Some say weeds are just unwanted plants. But maybe they're just volunteers?


IMG_3122.JPG

I shot this one on my walk yesterday - the walk in which I aimed to get a couple of my wee beasties to settle down so I could work without constant barking and pawing.

How many little bits of beauty do I pass by without noticing on any particular day?

This dandelion may be the bane of some homeowner's landscaping existence. But if you look at it, it's really pretty. So delicate, fuzzy, and intricate. All a matter of perspective, right?

Sort:  

As an environmental scientist, all plants are beautiful and needed. Only our programmed culture tells us what is a weed and unwanted. People have been programmed to have a perception of what is beauty. Unfortunately, like you mentioned a dandelion is both beautiful and ingenious in design but viewed as a weed. Not me I see the beauty. Good post, thanks for sharing!

Thanks for visiting and commenting so thoughtfully. I'm pretty sure I've read that honeybees actually depend on having dandelions and other 'weed' flowers to be able to do their thing.

Side note - I remember at one point realizing that my entire yard was essentially the same as the fancy stuff the grocery store sells as salad greens!

Yes very true. Natural grasses and plants is always healthier than a fake artificial Scotts Lawn care type of look.

This look is want corporations want us to have. Not me, I prefer natural lawns

Yeah - there's no 'market' for natural yards! We're actually putting our veggie garden out front this year. We don't treat our grass with chemicals, and don't use chems in our garden. Since we have a crazy puppy (digging, trampling, eating) and a big flock of chickens, it makes more sense to put the garden out front where it's got a chance.

Sounds great. We think alike. Nice to have met you through Steemit. Hope you have a great summer. Stay in touch!

@steemitpatina Great conversation!! @jetblake I would love to see you write some articles on this topic from an environmental scientist perspective (now following you both, can't wait for more)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37