Pictures of plants all around my house in Brazil!

in #flowers7 years ago (edited)

This is going to be a kinda long post. I tried to avoid flowers I think might me normal everywhere and pick the ones that are mostly only found in Brazil. Here is what I have.

I want to start with this one, which is known as  Impatiens walleriana .


Honestly, I don't think its flower is that good looking. The reason I decided to post it is because of how it spreads its seeds. The "pack" in the image below is full of small seeds. Once it gets too big(or someone touches it too much) it explodes throwing the seeds everywhere. Here is the before and after.

Also, here is a video of it too: 

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The next one is a  Bromelia, which one, I don't know. They are really ancient plants and have some real nice flowers.

The plant below is an  Aloe vera, sadly it isn't having flowers right now but its really good plant to have around. You can use to make lots of medicinal juices or use it to heal burns and avoid infections on wounds. Personally, what I used it most for was to treat wounds and burns. I can guarantee you that it does works.

When you cut it this liquid comes out. Then you just squeeze it so you can get more for your tea/juice/wound.

This is a rare kind of "Butiá" tree.  This one is about 30 years old. Butiá trees are extremely hard to "start", staying below 15 centimeters in size for about 5 years before it starts growing. Most of the times it dies. The trees for this fruit, even though they look alike, are pretty different from each other. There are tall, skinny, thick, and short trees(half this one in size, the big ones more than 3x taller). This one in particular becomes home to small birds from time to time, having more than 20 birds living in it at the same time. Sadly, no one is occupying it at the moment.

This kind of tree only has fruits in the summer, they are pretty small(a little bit more than 1 inch in diameter) and are really sweet. I like it a lot. I've never seen them selling anywhere, even though they are natural from Brazil it is pretty rare here. Here is how their cluster looks like. I found this image on the internet, when mine starts to grow fruits again I'm going to make an entire blog post about it.

I think I'm already done with the flowers I thought most foreigners wouldn't know, so let me give you guys a bonus.

Here is my wall and garage filled with  Ficus pumila, a toxic plant.

Also, I always knew  Four-leaf clovers meant good luck, but I never knew they were rare until I watched an American movie where the main character spends a good time looking for one in the middle of a bunch of Three-leaf clovers, which I didn't know existed.

Well, this is my post! I hope you enjoyed it, there are many other plants and trees(actually there are 7 more trees on my lawn that I didn't show here), so be sure to follow me if you want to see more.

Sort:  

I hope that I can have a yard like this one day. Thanks for the tour!

Need plants rsul! keep it up, loving the posts. Brazil is truly an exotic paradise.

Congratulations @rsul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69