Commission Complete! Peonies.

in #flowers3 years ago

Sarah's Peonies 2.jpg

Part two of this commission, long awaited:

Sarah's Peonies.jpg

For my sister-in-law. This was one project that took forever, and it was my fault, but it seemed like everything conspired against me.

I took most of last year off painting and worked on writing instead. A lot of that was depression, stress, uncertainty, and creative block. The pre-election news, and the pandemic didn't help my mental health. After that, I'm not at all experienced at working in more abstract styles, so I spent ages staring at the acrylic pours trying to figure out how to work with the space, not just on it.
Then I had to figure out how to paint peonies, which are very detail-heavy. Seeking out crisp, clear detailed reference pictures took a while.
Then more staring.
And more staring.
And more staring.
Then I realized the first piece needed more, so I cut out some stencils of leaves and airbrushed them in as shadowy details.
Then my projector died, and I had to wait for a new one to arrive.

Blah blah and so on. Finally, the second one is done. I'm officially paying way more attention to composition than I ever did before, so that's a win.

Now I just have to wait for covid numbers to drop...again... before I can go ship these pieces out. Ontario is such a mess.

In better news, I finally have my first vaccine booked. For early June. Sigh.

Stay safe out there!

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60