Wildflower series ~ Winter flowers

in #flowers6 years ago (edited)

Phymaspermum athanasioides flowers.jpg

Phymaspermum athanasioides are the only wild plants in the area that flower in winter. As flowers go, they are rather strange-looking because they seem to lack petals. They belong to the chamomile tribe of plants but they don't have any medicinal function that I know of. However, they are a very welcome sight in an otherwise drab winter landscape; perhaps their function is to cheer us up as we wait for the spring rains. August is a warmer month but rather unpleasantly windy, blowing dust and pollen around and making me sneeze.

Phymaspermum athanasioides.jpg

These small shrubs are widespread in central and Northern South Africa in open grassland on rocky slopes and hilltops. Plants growing on rocky outcrops around the brows of hills probably have better survival chances against fire because vegetation is sparse.

Sort:  

nice post....

I do not know the name of this plant, but I've seen it many times.
I never paid much attention to him.
But on your photo it looks great!

Flowers are a great way to express the beauty of this diverse world. It is one of the great creatures of the great Creator, in a word, flowers are always a symbol of beauty. The beauty of flowers influences the human mind very well.

Ohhhh!brother.l like flower very much.do you know what is the name of this flower?/?.i know!!!this flower name is "gadha:"

I love that you post photos like this. When I visit a country, I like to see the landscape, native plants, and local architecture. Tour books only want to show us the "important" things.

Thanks. I also prefer to "go local" and see things the way people who live there might

I love the colours, nice write up and shots.

Thank you. Is your part of the world also this brown at this time of the year?

Omg the first one.. I want to use it as screensaver for my phone. Please? I really love flower photos and liked this very much (im already bored of the actual wallpaper).

In other order of ideas.. We're almost out of winter and you guys are getting there?

You are welcome to use it, I'm glad you liked it. Winter is definitely over for us, now we wait for the rain and I suffer from pollen allergies

In Africa, it's probably quite warm in winter. Therefore, plants can bloom. We always have a negative temperature in winter. Sometimes frosts are up to 30 degrees centigrade. If something blooms, then only houses in flowerpots.

It would be very hard for me to live in your country

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62890.35
ETH 2544.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.94