Green flowers

in #flowers6 years ago

This plant belongs to the hyacinth family although I don't know exactly which species it is. All I know is that it is a bulb which sprouted in a succulent that I bought at a show many years ago. It remained small and survived many house moves until I finally planted it in my garden and it flowered for the first time.

albuca.jpg

It seems strange that insects would visit green flowers because the green colour makes it difficult to see in amongst the leaves of the plant and yet there are often bees on these flowers and you can see the forming seeds in the bottom left. The large white parts below the anthers are actually unusually enlarged filaments and perhaps these guide the insects to the flower, since the petals are green

Sort:  

Beautiful photo and beautiful flower. I would like to see the plant completely, please. A girlfriend gave me an orchid "Dorama"with a green and white flower. I really liked her! But it did not survive in our climate. This orchid loves a cool temperature. Attach photos (photo is not mine - my orchid). In the photo, the orchid turned pale.

DORAMA-+.jpg

I'll take a picture soon. Beautiful orchid!

Thanks, I'll wait!

Beautiful flower and beautiful photo. I like the green background too so I'll give you my upvote. Keep it up!

Looks like a type of orchid. Green flowers are most unusual. 🐓🐓

This one is some kind of hyancinth

I've always wanted to see a small green flower! Some time ago during a trip to the mountains I saw for the first time the genus Helleborus, a toxic plant with green flowers, beautiful!

Green flowers seem unusual, but maybe they are not, precisely because they are not noticed very easily. But your point about insects not seeing them is a good one; we had a cactus in the house that finally set bloom after many years... and it was bright green. Quite a surprise.

=^..^=

I've never seen a green cactus flower, what kind is it?

I believe it is called a "Teddy Bear Cholla." My Humans were told it was "impossible" to grow it as a houseplant, let alone to get it to flower. Then this happened:

=^..^=

That does look like something that wants to grow outside in full sun. Impressive!

So you got two plants for the price of one, thats pretty good. Unusual to see green flowers, they are pretty though.

I'm always curious when I get something else coming up in a plant that I bought. Usually just weeds, but not always

Nice photo. We have something similar, and little white and green spiders wait and ambush insects coming for the pollen.
You have done well with the photo

Thank you, it did come out surprisingly well.
We also have crab spiders that ambush pollinators. The amazing thing is that they canactually change colour to blend in with the plant that they are on. Takes a few days but they cand go, yellow, pink or green and white

if not mistaken flower chrysolite@nikv

I can't find any plants called chrysolite on google, do you perhaps know a latin name?

if in Indonesian Flower cempaka / Interest chrysolite this flower is very fragrant@nikv

looks very interesting. I like to comment on your post thanks for sharing

Handsomely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84