I Took This Picture Of My Mom's Mexican Sage

in #flowers6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181102_155710349.jpg

After I finished mowing my mom's lawns, I noticed her Mexican sage. This sage has pretty flowers. I have seen humming birds come to this plant.

This plant seems to come back after every winter and yes I do see bees and hummingbirds take advantage of it's flowers. I too have a sage plant. Mine though is called, White sage. It too, attracts bees and humming birds.

I always enjoy watching the hummingbird. I like how it hovers around. Sometimes when I am watering my lawn a humming bird would come by the water as it comes out of my garden hose.

I have had hummingbirds fly so close to me that I can hear the flutter of their wings.

One time, I was at my old job and for my coffee break I would walk the parking lot. I found that walking the parking lot gave me more energy than just sitting in the break room drinking coffee and talking to the co-workers.

Well, as I was walking there came a hummingbird and seem to be interested in me. I stopped walking for a bit just to watch this hummingbird hover around me.

I like how it stayed stationary in the air, but would turn every which way. After awhile it took off and I continued my coffee break walk.

Sometimes walking can help your thinking. You see I started walking the parking lot a little after one of my sisters died of cancer or maybe she died of the treatment of cancer. I really don't know.

Anyway, I just didn't feel like sitting in the break room anymore so I got up and started walking on my two coffee breaks. People used to wonder, Why is David walking outside? He doesn't need to lose weight.

Yes, that was true at that time I didn't need to lose weight, but it helped my thinking process. After a while others started to walk the parking lot too. I guess I started something.

I started walking the parking lot the first part of 2005 when one of my sisters died and I kept on walking until I retired from my work at the end part of 2010. So I was walking for the last five years of my old job.

Now days I do need to lose weight. I like to water my plants by hand with a bucket or a watering can. I usually fill up a barrel with water and keep walking back to the barrel to get more water.

That is my walking, that I do. Maybe, I should go to a certain park that I used to go to years ago and walk around that park. A lot of people in my city go there to walk around the park.

I used to go there and listen to different audio books as I would do my walking. I guess if I would do that again I would listen to the audio version of the Bible.

I do like the stories of the Bible. I have been listening to the Psalms and Proverbs lately. In Proverbs there is a lot of wisdom.

OK, let's get back to my mom's sage. The cats that my mom feeds like hanging around my mom's sage too. You see, they like looking a the bees that come by. They even have dreams of eating one of them, but the bees are too fast when they try to leap at them.

If you enjoyed this blog, please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine, taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Beautiful story and sage @david777111
My mom also had some sage, humming birds
are great to see and hear, sound like mini choppers :-)

Yes, those humming birds are so interesting to see and hear. Thank you @iovaccae!

Una hermosa planta, pero no la conozco, @david777111. Saludos.

Beautiful flowers and stunning scenery

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73