Flowerfriday: Graptoveria "Fred Ives"

in #flowerfriday6 years ago (edited)

Graptoveria is a succulent hybrid created by cross-pollinating flowers of Echeveria and Graptopetalum and the cultivar was probably named after the person who bred it, which is why it has the name of a person, rather than a latin species name.

fred ives flower macro.jpg

This is what the entire flower stalk looks like:

fred ives flowers.jpg

These are large, prolific succulents with brightly coloured leaves that are only really suitable for outdoor growing: full sun really brings out the colour of the leaves. They grow rather long stems and often, the old flower stem produces miniature plants once it has done flowering

fred ives.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful pictures!
I like it!
Today I'm going to an exhibition of flowers of iris. It is very interesting to me!

That should be fun. I hope you take pictures and show us

Yes! :-)

Tequila :-)

Are you thinking of Agave?

gorgeous. My freds haven't bloomed. Guess I'm not doing such a good job with them, lol.

Perhaps they just need time. My Freds haven't been difficult at all. Fred is a late bloomer, we are heading into winter now. All my other echies bloomed in spring

Im learning that here in SoCal, succulents bloom year round. I keep cutting them and they keep growing back! Except Fred. I moved him though, so he isn't so crowded anymore.

Very original flowers. I have never seen such. I liked them.

I'm sure you don't see these much in Russia

Pretty one! And like the colour of the leaves too :)
We went to out favourite nursery today and I got some (7) new succulents... yayyyy :D

I look forward to seeing what you have!

Need to take photos.. and then start praying I don't kill any :D

Take photos and get growing tips!

That's the plan :) I don't think I will kill the Sempervivum... hope not anyway.. was looking for the Cobweb one for a long time :)

Sempervivums are beautiful and easy. Just don't give them too much sun

Those are gorgeous flowers

Like little stars

Very nice plants. Sadly in Canada with the extremes of weather they would not thrive here.

There are quite a few Canadians who do keeps succulents, if the online communities are anything to go by. They only put them outside during summer months, though

Very pretty, it looks like it has gold specks on them!!

The gold specks are the pollen. When are you going to do some highly magnified pollen posts?

I would like to check this gold speck pollen out. It is unique. Hopefully I can find a nice fresh pollen sample to check out through different ways. Not sure what we will see. Only the electron microscope can see the amazing surface and shape.

You should be able to find these blooming in Aus, it's a common succulent and they flower now in late autumn, if that's any help.

Hummmm, I've never seen them around. Maybe I need to have a closer look. Ill keep my eyes out since they are blooming now. What an odd time for blooming.

The flowers are really pretty.

They are. I like the plant colours as well. It's a good one for the garden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17