First signs of Spring

in #flowerfriday6 years ago

In the Southern Hemisphere, winter is finally over and it's already pretty warm although we are yet to have any rain. Rain is forecast for tomorrow and it will be very welcome as it's very dusty and windy and my allergies are driving me crazy. I got rid of the jasmine because I am very allergic to that and next on my hit list is the pine tree: they are an invasive alien species and the amount of pollen it spews out at this time of year makes being at home unpleasant.

viburnum.jpg

On to the spring flowers, this is Viburnum, I don't know which cultivar it is. I rescued it as an extremely spindly handful of branches of unrecognisable shrub from under the mess of jasmine and spindly roses and planted it in a pot last autumn. This year, it's still a little spindly but is recovering enough to be pruned a little. Now it has flowered and can be identified. There's one of those tiny little flies that likes flowers again...

dwarf red-leaf plum.jpg

This may be a Plum tree that came up after someone threw a plum pip into the back yard, I don't know, it makes a few flowers but doesn't bear fruit. I like the purple leaves anyway. I need to prune it again although its too late this year.

stoechas lavender.jpg

Stoechas lavender is a great favourite with the bees, this is an unusual variety with very dark purple little florets

Sort:  

Beautiful photos of flowers!
It's a pity that you are allergic to jasmine and pine!
And I'm sitting on the balcony and enjoying the smell of jasmine.
Therefore, I have several types of jasmine.

I like the smell but they make my face itch terribly

Inspiring post @ nikv, especially because of the recreational effort you put into the flowers..Well done!

Thank you

Still plenty of Summer ti go here. :-)

Enjoy it while it lasts

Beautiful photos! The weather here has been very dry, we haven't had rain for a very long time, and also very dusty. All the wattles are flowering and my allergies are driving me nuts too.

Ah yes, the wattles must be bad. I hope you het rain soon

Nice post, I've never seen a bay sea urchin until now. Thanks!

That second one you say it's a plum? They grow around here as decorative trees.Pretty dark leaves and pink flowers :)

It might be a plum or it might be a hybrid of cherry and plum. They look quite similar

Wonderful photos! I adore the spring! Waking up!
Here is middle of summer... fruits are everywhere.

Thank you! I am looking forward to summer fruits although that will only be in December or January

That was some good 'ol biology class from school :D You have quite a few allergies. What do you do to guard against the pine around your house?Stoechas lavender is not just the favourite of bees, it's my favourite too!

We are nearing the end of our summer. Very little rain. It is raining tonight though. Don't blink; summer will be over. Always love the flowers.

wow!!! Beautiful photos ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79