Day flowers aka Widow's Tears

in #flowerfriday7 years ago

These little flowers only bloom for a day and then they die. Makes me wonder who named them widow's tears...
Commelina Erecta is native to South Africa and grows as a weed in my garden although I leave it be because I like the tiny blue flowers.

commelina_erecta.jpg

Blue flowers are relatively rare in nature and they are mostly pollinated by bees. It is thought that bees see blue and blue purple as one colour and may perceive it as green. It's thought that the colour that human eyesight perceives as green, as in leaves, is simply a neutral background of dull yellow grey to insect eyes and green flowers show up vividly against this background.

The blue in the flowers is produced by anthrocyanins which vary in colour according to the pH of the sap. Acidic sap produces a more purple colour and alkaline sap produces blue

Sort:  

This is beautiful and amazing, well done and thank you.
This is the first time i have looked at this category and realised that i should have up voted here.
I will start now

Thank you!

Excellent picture as always of my dear friend @nikv happy Friday!!

Thank you! It was your suggestion that I look at flowerfriday. I enjoy it!

Hahaha, excellent brother, happy weekend!!!

Woah! Blue Flowers!!! Never seen blue flowers before.
Too bad they only bloom for a day. It is very nice too look at, it gives you a calming feeling.
No wonder they say if you can't think of a happy thought, you think of a blue ocean. Where the colour blue makes you happy.

That is true

I see you have powered up :) Time to learn to use your slider

Thanks @nikv !
I'm happy to give you extra!
You've been a gem and I love following your blog and chatting with you.
I've learnt so many new things from you. Keep it up!
But yes, i should learn to use the slider, especially with comments, it will help me keep my power up to upvote more people. Thanks for the tip!
Cheers! (Meow)

Beautiful flower and very interesting information. Thank you.

I've never seen flowers like this before. Where are they from nikv?

South Africa. There are variants in many parts of the world, though

Are you serious. I'm from South Africa. I need to find these..

Where are you? This grows wild all over SA, some other names for it are: blouselblommetjie (Afr.); lala-tau, khopo-e-nyenyane, khotsoana (Sesotho); uhlotshane (isiXhosa); Idambiso, idemadema, idlebendlele, idangabane (isZulu); ndamba (Tshivenda); indabane (Ndebele)

Jhb. Jeez you know your stuff..

That is such an interesting science tid bit too on the flower's sap.

Excellent specimen!

Floral litmus paper!

Want to say hi from Austria 🇦🇹
Beautiful flower 😊

Beautiful flower and very interesting information.

beautiful flower

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31