Beautiful Purple Irises

in #flower6 years ago

Beautiful Purple Irises

You can find Irises in many different colors including black, but the majority of iris flowers are purple.

There are approximately 300 species wordlwide. The fragrant flowers bloom in late spring to early summer in a short 2-3 week period.

The 3 upward petals are called, "standards." The 3 downward that look like petals are actually "sepals" and are called, "falls." If the drooping sepals have fuzz, it is called a "beard."

The stems of these flowers can grow up to 38 inches high.

The flower is named after the Greek Goddess Iris; the messenger of love.


Wishing you all a LOVEly evening!

Information Source: theflowerexpert.com, softschools.com

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

These flowers are beautiful and have lovely and bright color. I especially like the 4th picture, it looks refreshing with the raindrops indeed. Great shot! ;)

I thought you would see the one with the raindrops as "refreshing." : )
Thanks for your kind words. : )

You're welcome! Yeah! You know me almost everything..... That's really nice of you, my dear sis! ;)

Love those purples @whatisnew!!
Iris's are so awesome, had some like
the bearded types in Calif. A lady
in the north had tons she sold each
spring, she was a collector of many
kinds, just outside Redding.

We have smaller thin things up here
like wild looking.

Love the one you got with the rain
drops!! ❤ and those variegated
ones are cool!

Have a great evening also
my friend! 💕

That must have been so awesome to see all of those different Irises. You will have to get pics of those thin things you have where you are now.
Thanks...I was soooooo happy to capture those raindrops. : )

So beautiful.
You've got a shot with dew drops!!!

Thanks @djynn! : )
They were rain drops and you know how happy I was to capture them. : )

They are gorgeous especially the purple ones.

They are and I have never seen anything more beautiful thank the irises that you posted when you were in your kayak. They were gorgeous!

Many years ago, my flower-loving neighbor gave me oodles of iris rhizomes in a wide variety of colors. I enjoyed them for a long time, but eventually realized I had too many flower beds to keep up; that one was turning into a weed bed. So I dug them up and gave them away. I miss them sometimes, but not the weeding.

That was very nice of your neighbor and I bet they were a beautiful sight with all of the different colors. Weeding sure is a pain, in more ways than one. And it was very nice of you to pass them along so they could be enjoyed by others. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72