Beautiful Privet Flowers

in #flower6 years ago

Privet Shrub

Another Common name for for this Privet Shrub is Ligstrum. I will be showing you photos of the flower buds beginning in late spring to full flowers in June.

These dense shrubs grow fast, grow to be 4-15 feet tall, and can have a spread of 4-8 feet.

The white flowers are beautiful but they stink. I can't describe the smell but it is very unpleasant. I had to hold my breath, walk away for a bit and then go back to take more photos.

Privet belongs to the allergy causing group of plants because they cam easily trigger asthma attacks and eczema.

I like how the sun was shining on this one.

When the flowers are gone, the shrub is nothing to write home about. In the fall you will find shiny black berries in clusters at the ends of the branches. You don't see black berries very often and I hope to get some photos of them when they appear. Don't eat the berries because they are poisonous for us humans, however, the birds can eat them without any problems.

The flowers are loaded with pollen as you can see here, which attracts bees who are the main pollinators for these flowers.

This is one of those bees; a honey bee.

You will see the bumble bees on these flowers in my next post.

Thanks for looking!

Information Source: thespruce.com, softschools.com

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

This is what they make hedges out of, right.

Right you are and I would love to see these hedges when they are in bloom. : )

They usually get trimmed, have to find an abandon hedge.

WOW WOW WOW!!!

A lot of WHITE flowers.... REALLY BEAUTIFUL!

Many many many thanks, my dear sis! I do really love them!

You took great photos of them. I especially like the one that has bright blue sky as background and the last one with close up bumble bee with the white flowers! Great shot! ;)

A triple WOW! YAY! YAY! YAY!

I was very excited for you to see these flowers. I knew you would love them. My pleasure sis! And would you believe that I have more white flowers to post for you? Hopefully next week. When you are happy, I am happy. : )

Another WOW WOW WOW! It's really nice of you! I'm looking forward to seeing new white flowers from you with much interest. Please accept million thanks from me, my lovely sis! ;)

HaHa! I so very much love another triple WOW! It is always a pleasure to show you things that make you happy, my dear sis! : )

You are always very kind to me, my lovely sis! ;)

Aw, and you are always very kind to me too! Hugs! : )

A thousand loves from me..... ;))))

AW, a thousand loves from me to you also sis! : ) : ) : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88