Did you know about the Flower of Jamaica?

in #flower6 years ago (edited)
Greetings to all in this beautiful community, today I want to write about a flower that particularly since I discovered I fell in love with its flavor; it is none other than the Flower of Jamaica also known as Rose of Labasia.

20180622_143834.pngFuente

It has an intense red color, the flower can be taken both hot and cold drinks, possessing many vitamins and beneficial properties for our body and organism such as:

• Vitamins A, E, C and B1; as well as minerals such as phosphorus, calcium and iron.

• It is an antioxidant, which prevents the degeneration of the skin.

• It is anti-inflammatory so it can be taken for belly pains.

• Acts as a digestive helping our system process the food we consume.

• Avoid fluid retention by increasing the amount of urine and therefore the release of toxins from the body so it could be said that it helps to lose weight.

• It also has diuretic properties since it causes more frequent urination to help cleanse our livers and kidneys.

• Being diuretic helps reduce high blood pressure.

• Lowers blood glucose levels, which can be very helpful for diabetics.

• If you suffer from nerves or insomnia you can drink a tea of ​​this flower and act as a tranquilizer.

Something interesting is that it can be cultivated almost anywhere so it can be get and buy very easily. In my case I wanted to prove if it was true about the cultivation so I buy a pot / flowerpot (with holes to drain water), sand, fertilizer and sowed the seed of this flower watering it every day; This flower likes sunlight, so you should place it in a place where you get as much as possible.

After several days and to my surprise I had my own flower of Jamaica, its growth is very fast and once the flower falls from its stem you can pick it up and let it dry to make this delicious drink.
20180622_152705.jpg

Jamaica flower planted at home

20180622_152635.jpg

The flower itself is very beautiful

I usually prepare it cold with a little lemon or other citrus and a little sugar.

I boil water and once boiled I add the flower leaving it to rest a few minutes, you will see that the water changes to red color.

Once cooled and add the citrus and sugar (if you wish).

I put it in the fridge and its Ready!

I hope you liked my post and if you are reading and have never tried it I recommend you do it, cold or hot is a drink with a great flavor and super refreshing.

@dikarina

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36