This Is A Flower Of A Plant That Was Given Me A Long Time Ago

in #flower6 years ago

IMG_20180905_092609889.jpg

I think the plant was given to me around early 2000's. A friend of mine gave me this vase with water in it and this plant I think is called a peace lily, but there was a fish in the vase under this peace lily.

Of course I accepted her gift. I used to have fish when I was a kid. My friend told me how to care for it. So I took care of the fish.

I was supposed to lift the plant from the vase then I could feed the fish some fish food, then I would replace the plant after feeding it. I think it is called a beta fish.

I hear you don't want to put that fish in with any other fish as this fish will eat another fish. Well, I read something like that. When I was at the telephone company I had managers with this same kind of setup for a fish.

It was a long time since I took care of a fish when I was a kid.

I also remember taking care of some fish that had belonged to a set of my roommates at the time. I think that was around the early 1990's.

In those days I remember swatting flies or mosquitoes in the house and giving it to the fish. Those fish just ate them up. It seemed like I was taking care of their fish sometimes.

So let's get back to the gift of the fish inside the vase with this peace lily. The fish eventually died. Well, the fish died when I last changed the water. Maybe it was the new water that caused the fish to die.

I found out later that you need a lot of the old water to be mixed with the new water. I did feel bad that the fish died. That was a long time ago.

This reminds me of my neighbor that recently wanted to talk to me about the water, cause he recently changed his water that he normally changes, but after the last change of water a lot of his fish died.

I told him that maybe someone put too much of the chlorine in the water for a disinfectant. Well, now days I drink filtered water as I don't want to drink the disinfectant. So maybe because of too much disinfectant did his fish die.

I still have the plant though. I took out the plant from that vase. I put the plant into a bigger pot with potting soil. I think the plant liked it better that way. I am amazed that the plant lasted all these years.

It took a while before a flower came out of this plant. I was surprised that it did start to come out. I didn't even know that this plant is a lily. Well it has a different look. It is a peace lily. I had to look it up.

Well, anyway I seen this flower, so I took a picture of it.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97