Back Down in the Keys, post-Irma Evacuation 10/4/2017

Hey everyone,

So my family and I have arrived back in the Florida Keys (Long Key, mm 67) after we had evacuated the hurricane. I have to say, it's been a little while since the hurricane hit but it sure doesn't look that way. I'm utterly speechless and dumbfounded by the raw power that storm had delivered to the island chain. Even in the most northerly and "less effected" parts of the Keys, piles and piles of garbage, everything ranging from beat up refrigerators and other kitchen appliances to plant debris to styro-foam and trash bags. I've never seen anything like it; apparently in Islamorada prior to my coming back, there was something called "Refrigerator Alley" - just a mile + solid of destroyed fridges and another couple miles of destroyed vehicles...

South of me more toward where the eye wall hit, which I also haven't seen yet, apparently some islands have been totally re-arranged and then some! Where there were once trees and rather thick brush, just a total sand-dune zone now and what's interesting is, the MSM is reporting none of this. Sure we just had Houston, the Las Vegas massacre, and Maria with Puerto Rico but some fascinating things have gone down here in the Keys. Apparently also, major researchers are coming to observe the changes that occurred to the reef among other things. Although I wasn't living down here for Wilma quite yet, they're saying Irma had that storm topped by a long shot in damage...

Hope everyone does okay in the recovery efforts... I'll post videos and photos today when I go for my walk.

As always, thanks for supporting me, dear readers, watchers and listeners; I'm eternally grateful.

metaphysical lesson in all of this for me: out with the old, in with the new.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70