ENTRY FLOOR TILE...... UPDATE...... NOVEMBER THIRD !!!!!

in #floortile6 years ago

IMG_0988.jpg

I started to lay the Dura Rock 1/4 inch cement board. This is laid in a bed of thin-set mortar and screwed to the floor, to separate the tile from the plywood floor. The expansion and contraction of wood, even a stable wood can pop tiles and crack mortar joints. This also tells me that it allows the cement board to move as one large monolithic slab! I still wonder about that because it is screwed to the plywood???

IMG_0990.jpg

This is the thin-set that I use, it is Versabond polymer modified. I chose white because I just might be using some colored glass and slate mosaic's, and the white color will reflect the light.

IMG_0989.jpg

When applying this thin-set you need to use a 1/4 inch notched trowel.

IMG_0992.jpg

All joints need to be taped with a mesh tape that will resist the corrosive effects of the cement thin-set.
The supervisor in the picture, has been NO help at all....... He tells me this type of work is NOT in his job description LOL!!!

Now I just need to get my porcelain tiles-they are still on order. This layout will be much larger, about five foot wide , but without dry-laying the tiles I cannot get the exact size.

There you have it-the beginning. When the tiles come in I will post an update together with the Mexican inlay tiles that I am planning!! @silvertop

Sort:  

Tile always looks awsome!

How long is the waiting time before the tiles are ready to get stepped on @silvertop?

Hi @cryptopie, they say 24 hours before you can walk on them. My wife just called the tile store, the tiles finally came in we have been waiting 2 weeks. I am going to pick them up Monday. They are closed for the weekend and I am just finishing setting up all equipment for our band now, almost 7:00 pm now I get to go home🤗
You have a good evening 😀

Thanks, I hope that your project turn out good there. :)

Me too, this is what I enjoy 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57