Gap Theory | Pt. 2 - What Is Gap Theory and How Does It Work?

in #floor-lessons5 years ago (edited)

Nowhere has this "gap theory" helped me so much to find a way to trust life as on psychedelic dancefloors where I first stumbled upon it. In part 1 we dove a bit into the need for it and how it can help to balance out high input environments that are threatening to overtake our minds and make us succumb to a lack of faith in ourselves when all life is trying to do is to make us reach new heights of inner strength.

Time to explain what gap theory is and what it means to me. If you want to read the foreword you can do so here


A spot with your name on it


Imagine you are dancing on a good psy floor and there are lots of people around. Many if not most seem to be enjoying themselves and everyone is dancing their own way to the music uniting all beings through sound, allowing for each expression that is coming up without any obligations.

Then somebody leaves. You open your eyes and see a gaping whole in the floor where there used to be someone dancing just moments ago. What do you do? Do you fill the gap or do you stay where you are?

You see I have had it happen many times that these gaps that appear on the floor almost seem to be something of a revelation, a symbol for the energetic changes and developments on the floor, as reflected by people and their behavior. As well as their absence.

Many times for example I have felt uneasy where I was. Maybe it seemed too crowded to fully enjoy myself, maybe I was dacing at a place where someone (turned against the grain of the direction people were facing) was constantly watching me with a piercing glance distracting me from myself, or somehow I just didn't dig the sound qualities at this particular place on the floor.

Either way, I felt not as good as I knew I could and wanted, given the general feel of the floor at the time. And suddenly something shifts and a gap opens up a good 5 metres in front of me, next to some smiley people, a lovely couple and two people giving it their all, dancing hard like there is no tomorrow with an aura of positivity that radiates!

And I felt called. Heck, I felt the gap was everything I had wished for. It almost seemed too good to be true but here it was, happening, calling me. "Come over here..."*.

And so I took it. No hesitation, no hurry. Just diligent and steady motions towards the space that had opened up. And guess what? I felt better. It felt even better than what I had imagined it to feel like and my whole experience became more magical. More meaningful. More resonant to who I really was.

IT was almost as if I could look back to the old me still standing in the old spot feeling uneasy with himself because the difference to here, where I NOW was was so apparent.

And then it it me: Maybe my good feelings weren't just about the crowdedness-factor or the quality of sound but rather: Having followed a cosmic invitation with courage and determination. Faith in life, to show me something after I heeded its call. It became clear that things were in fact different now than they had been, and that the universe was suddenly at liberty to offer new things because I had answered with my accepting the invitation. Amazing things. Things beyond the capacity that the old place or constellation on the floor could ever hope to offer.

And so it was. Someone would hand me a bottle of wine to enjoy a sip. Another dude would start passing a joint around, and the couple was visibly thrilled to have me in the neighborhood as we danced ourselves silly, bouncing our high energy output amongst each other to newer and higher heights. New people came out of nowhere, abruptly deciding to stay and dance with us. Until we found ourselves in a cloud of people of the highest vibe transforming a good floor into an epic one from the inside out.

It was marvellous.

No more hangups, no uncertainty, no challenge. The challenge was to accept the mysterious invitation that had materialized as a "mere gap" between people on an already good floor.

All I had really done is to recognize that gap that seemed to have almost "personal" qualities, tailored to me as an individual and then to conciously TAKE IT, RECEIVE IT, TRUST IT. And the magic started happening instantly the moment I did.

It's like I had stumbled upon a very simple yet totally profound way of recognizing when to act, when to dare to do something and how to gauge it. Was it "just" an opening on the floor without any significance or was it actually a gap opening up for me in order to say yes? They feel different. The former always comes with a sense of ambiguity and opaqueness - could be me, could not. The latter always feels like a cosmic dare lovingly tingling me with a big ass sign with my name written on it asking: "Are you ready for this? Come on over and find out where this is going! Come here..."

And so, on the floor and in life in general I tend to be better able to recognize opportunities and seemingly "random" options that pop up and carry this same scent, this same energetic feel like the gaps on the floor calling me. And every time I do decide to take one of these opportunities I cannot only be proud of myself, I can see life's magic happening in the most stunning way imaginable. Live.

Try it out. Listen to life, look for the gaps and dare to step up into it with courage, faith and love.

If you don't know what I mean with the gap theory, read this again or go to a good psy floor near you. I assure you you will understand what it means and what the fuss was about with all the hesitation before we finally dared to say YES to the gap.


Img srcs:

unsplash.com
S.U.N. Festival FB Page
Truehumanity.eu
Psy-Fi facebook page


Thanks for stopping by <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97