Flooded with Emotion

in #flood8 years ago

The past week has been exciting, excruciating, exhilarating, and exhausting. We had major flooding here, so many people are living in shelters, displaced from their homes, and/or had to be rescued from their flooded houses by boat. It’s heartbreaking to see all of the devastation around here.

This is my first blog post, and it's hard to write to some audience if they don't have context. I live in Louisiana, and the flooding here has been absolutely devastating. I'm posting this stream-of-consciousness style. My thoughts are often scattered. Sorry.

So much of the rest of the country isn't aware of what's happening here. Many of the news outlets aren't reporting it. I've been trying tirelessly to get details out to friends and family, and it's draining. It's exhausting keeping everyone in the loop. I don't have the words.

Last night, I finished my Stranger Things Netflix binge, and met up with P again for dinner. Conversation was hard. I feel like we’re there for each other. His uncle’s house flooded, but it flooded after we went to check on it on Saturday. So much pain. So much.
I’m getting many heartwarming messages of love and concern from friends and family, and a few of my friends have lost everything.

Sort:  

Congratulations @spartas! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67