Breastfeeding Flight Attendant Mom

in #flightattendant7 years ago (edited)

As a breast feeding mom there’s so much that comes into play while going back to work... and even more as a flight attendant breast feeding mom. Unfortunately I don’t get the opportunity to nurse my boy to sleep every single night. But when I do, the feeling is like no other!
BA8089C8-44CB-4C59-B43C-A1BED83F8259.jpeg

Because I think of breastfeeding as more than just a method of feeding a baby, but also an emotional and intellectual bonding, I am more committed to making it work despite the challenges presented by my work schedule.. I was grateful enough to have had 5 months of maternity leave, which allowed me to build a strong supply of 1140 ounces of Milk to start work with. I am excited to continue our journey and I’m ready to face all the challenges that come with maintaining a good supply of breastmilk as a flight attendant mom. I don’t have anything against formula but I’m dedicated to providing my son with the nutrients he needs and more produced by me!

Now in order to keep my milk supply on a good level, there’re steps I take while flying and at home. I was lucky enough to get consulted by a lactation consultant at the hospital. I also have a good friend who guided me since pregnancy about the entire rundown of breastfeeding, @mellisaramirez . She is also a Steemer, so I definitely suggest reaching out to her if any of you breastfeeding mom/mom-to-be Steemers would like guidance. Or me of course. She is too a lactation consultant.

Since about day 5 of my baby boy being here with me, I began to pump. I’d pump with an electrical pump 3x a day, store that, and feed my baby exclusively from breast. Eventually I bought a deep freezer to store my milk because my fridge was over loaded.

When it comes down to flying, I always fly with both an electrical pump and manual.

On the plane I use a manual most of the time. But when I can or have time, I plug right up to the outlet in the back of the plane (depending on which aircraft model I’m working) in the galley (airplane’s kitchen), and pump away.

Side note: I never pump in the lavatory (bathroom on plane). That’s disgusting!

I also pump as soon as I get to the hotel on my layovers.

I try to pump every 3-4 hours. This includes waking up in the night and pumping as well. I set alarms on my phone.
1CE9B474-3A47-4C58-8E8D-38D524064A25.jpeg

My son nurses every 2-4 hours so I stay in between that timing to keep the same supply.

While home, I am nursing all day straight from breast. Like I said in a prior post, being home means I am all his! Still pumping 2-3x a day.

When it’s time to store my milk while flying, I use Kiinde Breastmilk storage bags (so convenient because I pump right into them and less to wash), an Ebag Crew Cooler II to keep my milk nice and cold, and Ice Brix.

The hotel rooms usually have refrigerators to store my milk overnight, and if they don’t I always request for them with no problems thankfully.

I don’t have a way of freezing my milk and keeping it frozen for the amount of days I am away for. So, I just keep them nice and cold until I get home, the freeze them!

Sometimes I’ll eat a Milk Makers cookie, drink a lactation tea of Mrs. Patel, make an Oatmeal Banana smoothie, or bake my own cookies. This is all to boost my supply.

Overall I’ve been successful with my breastfeeding journey. I’ll keep you steemers updated throughout the way. Keep an eye out for my next post on Working Breastfeeding Moms must-haves! Till next time Steemers xoxo

Sort:  

awww well done!! mommystewardess was it painful the pump ?

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Hello Harj. Thankfully the pump isn’t painful at all :)

ahhhhh cool and Thank you! mommy stewardess would be great to get your interpretion on my last art post called "Kurtd Cobain" your insight would help us : )

With love

harj : ) xoxo
Abstract artist

Such a good post! Your doing an amazing job.

Thanks to you ;)

Its so amazing to see what mom's are willing to do for their babies!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41