You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Flat Earthers As Crazy As We're Led To Believe?

in #flatearth7 years ago

I showed this amateur video of a sunset on the ocean to a friend who had embraced the flat earth concept, and he had to change his model.
In flat earth talk, it's often said that a distant ship doesn't go behind the curve, and that if we would "zoom in" we would only see it getting smaller.
Here's a video camera zoomed in on the sun, showing the actual curvature-- not getting smaller to the eye. (Flat Earth videos will often show the sun from places like Alaska, giving a deceptive angle, this video shows a spherical Earth, and defies the flat earth models that I've seen):

Sort:  

This is a beautiful image and I think you for sharing it. I have not been lucky enough to see a sun set quite so dramatic with my own eyes, but it seems to be quite a humbling experience.

I do not, however, think that it necessarily shows curvature.

This is the working model of the flat Earth that I have come to know.

This implies that the sun disappears over the horizon not because it drops physically below it per se, but because of perspective. I had a problem with this at first, because I initially thought that this should mean that the Sun should get smaller before it disappears.

The problem is, I came across a video which speaks of how excessive humidity in the air can change this. Water molecules dilate the light source in the distance making it appear much larger than it is, which is something I have since paid close attention to and noticed to be factual.

This is the best example I could find to demonstrate what I mean, but perhaps the Sun does not get smaller on a humid day because the moisture in the air is dilating the light?

It seems there is at least two answers, both scientific, for just about everything. This is probably why after centuries, the flat Earth theory has still not died.

Smaller or not, the sun drops behind the horizon in these ocean sunset videos. The flat earth model shown above doesn't allow for that observable data, so it cannot be a correct model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69