You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Flat Earthers As Crazy As We're Led To Believe?

in #flatearth7 years ago

This is the best thought out and presented post I've ever seen on Steemit. And so are the comments.

Although I think the flat earth theory is wrong, reading this discussion has made me pay attention to a range of related issues.

Seeing the mention of the moon landing hoax, reminds me how rare it is to see anyone point out this blatantly obvious con-job that still seems to be widely believed.

Personally, I'm a reasonably open minded conspiracy theorist with a degree in geography who lives in the southern hemisphere and has flown around the planet.

I think the earth is a sphere that travels in an elliptical orbit around the sun (and it's not often I agree with the "official" story!)

And I think that almost all the flat earth stuff is designed to make "conspiracy theorists" look bad, and discredit other people calling out fakes like the moon landings or "climate change", by attempting to be associated with them.

But reading this post has made me see the appeal of the flat earth theory, which previously I was pretty dismissive of. Although I think it's bollocks, it's raises more good points than I realised.

Sort:  

This post has had ** a lot** of comments, but this is by far my favourite. This was essentially why I made the post and it's great to see that it was able to help someone understand another point of view that they previously were unable to.

I see a lot of flat Earth debate and within a couple of comments things get so heated that no one gets a chance to truly understand where the other person is coming from-- as demonstrated in this post by debates I was in, even though I am not a flat Earther.

While I do lean towards the Earth being round, more so than it being flat, I don't think it is a theory meant to discredit the truther community, because having looked into I have found that the theory has always been there over the centuries,

It may have gotten more traction recently due to Eric Dubai, but it has always been there even before he came along. I don't know what to think about it, but I shall follow it casually to see how it progresses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66