Flat Earthers: How do you explain Google Earth?

in #flatearth7 years ago (edited)

In case it's not apparent from the title of this post, I don't subscribe to the flat earth theory. I am fascinated, however, by the number of followers and the effort they put into their beliefs.

So I ask you this: How does Google Earth work? Consider the following logical statements:

  1. Google Earth maps Earth's surface onto a sphere that I can rotate and otherwise navigate.
  2. I can verify that places I have been around the world (e.g. Australia, USA, NZ) are represented correctly with no distortion.
  3. A circular plane cannot be mapped to a sphere without massive distortion.

If the flat earth theory holds true, then I would expect large parts of Google Earth to be mangled beyond recognition. What's the deal there?

Cheers!

earth.jpg

Sort:  

I'm more curious how you explain away every other planet in our solar system which are spheres and leave spherical shadows on Earth and each other.
Why would every planetary body be a sphere EXCEPT earth?

Boggles the mind the beliefs of some of the bonobos on this planet.

In my flat earth research, I've found that the typical response is simply that "Earth is special" :)

May be round shadows not spherical? Be careful in what you say because you will be laughed out easily by flatearthers.

Why would every planetary body be a sphere EXCEPT earth?

Why not?) It's only a belief they say. Can you prove that other planets even exist?))) They don't take any evidences that you can give as reliable.

Questioning the accepted wizdom is great, coming to a conclusion that is different to most people is fine, ignoring overwhelming amounts of evidence against your conlusion, is bizarre.
Strange people, and I think they quite like that they are considered weird, I guess most conspiracists feel the need to somehow be battling against a power, against which they can never win, the eternal underdog; its the mainstay of fiction.

Which campaign are you running for?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30