Flashlight - which one to get and why.

in #flashlight8 years ago (edited)

The short:
ThruNite® TN12 (2016) EDC LED Flashlight
Max Output 1050 ANSI Lumen with Cree XM-L2 U2 LED - 5 Versatile Modes + Strobe - Waterproof to IPX-8
(TN12 2016 CW+MCC-2+2X3400)
($49.95 Flashlight only - $89.95 Flashlight + 2-batteries and charger)

Where: amazon.com
(https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B013SAEPK4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1)
Price: Varies depending on the package.

To the point:
I started looking for a dependable flashlight that would not break the bank and that would be dependable, I had quite a few house flashlight that I was disappointed with, since with little to no use, they usually did not perform as expected or only performed well in the beginning and as time went on I ended up throwing them away. Some of these included well known brands such as your typical Maglite...

I wanted a flashlight that would be compact, light weight, would offer very high and very low power, drop resistant, well made, with a strobe feature, and with a battery and a setting that would last for a very long time if need be.

Well I found what I needed and I'm extremely happy with it. So much so that I bought 2.
Because there were so many options it was hard to make up my mind but the good thing about online purchasing is that reviews don't lie specially when an item has 800+ positive reviews. Now, like in any other thing in life there are people that will tell you "no, this other brand is better", I'm here to tell you that you can purchase this flashlight without a worry and never look back. Unless you are a flashlight aficionado this is all you'll ever need.

Still with all the research, reviews, videos etc. you still don't know exactly what you are going to get until you actually use it. So I received the item ($89.95 Flashlight + 2-batteries and charger) Model: (TN12 2016 CW+MCC-2+2X3400) I inserted the batteries in the charger to make sure the batteries were all the way charged and after wards began using the flashlight.

The flashlight is 5 1/2" long, it has a good weight but not heavy, the material feels good to the hand and the buttons are well placed, it's made of aircraft-grade aluminum, it has 5 light modes plus a Strobe mode that is simply turned on by holding down the front button. The one feature that also call my attention was the Firefly Mode, which will work for 74-days at .4 lumens, this is their claim and I have not left the item on to test it, but this setting gives you a light so low that is perfect to be used in the dark and not call unwanted attention.

The light can be mounted on a rifle or shotgun and has a button on the end of it so that no twisting is needed to turn on, just a push, and this makes it easy for those of you that want to use it as a weapon light. In the beginning when I was experimenting with it and did not know all of the features, I thought my flashlight was defective because after using it for a long time I noticed it would flicker, my first thoughts were "shit, don't tell me I was the lucky bastard to get the one defective flashlight out of the entire factory", after all the flashlight was a few weeks old and it had cost me in total $90, as it turns out, the flashlight will start flickering once the charge on the batteries start getting weak. Maybe that is a feature that other flashlights have, but I had already dropped it several times and that was my first reaction. I recharged the batteries and it was working like new again. The package I purchased came with 2-batteries and an LED charger that tells you exactly the amount of volts each battery has so it is very useful

I'm a CNC router programmer by trade, but I handle all the CPUs, network etc at my work, so this flashlight comes in handy all of the time when I'm under a desk etc, and I have 5 settings depending on how much light I need, I have dropped it too many times, from as high places as my truck seat to the pavement (ouch), but no issues at all, it is just well made, I purchased it in January 13, 2016 so I think more than 6 months is enough to write a positive review about it. I love that it is rechargeable, I since bought another pair of batteries and an extra flashlight for my wife, and as they say, one is none and two is one.
Like I said, in my opinion, no need to look any further.

Note: The 2nd flashlight I received also from amazon by Thrunite, the front silver button felt a little funny, not as tight as the first item I received. I sent it back no questions asked, received the replacement a week later and this one was perfect. I will never post an item and give a positive review if I'm not 100% positive that it is worth the money, or if I feel the quality of the product is not recommendable. Hope this is very helpful in making up your mind, like I said, buy worry free.

Manufacturer item page:
http://www.thrunite.com/thrunite-tn12-2016-max-1050-lumen-flashlight/

Helpful videos:

(This should give you comfort)

Sort:  

Congratulations @gnrodrigo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @gnrodrigo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70