My Entry for the Micro Fiction Contest

in #flashfiction5 years ago

image.png
image source


A Chance Never Taken

“Buzz”

I pull my phone from my pocket. It’s just another spam message about a trade school. I roll my eyes and wonder how they got my email. I am about to look away when I see the subject.

“Change Your Life”

I look down at my uniform and at the silly hat in my hand. I could use a change but how can I afford it. I am still in debt from last time I took a chance. I can’t take that risk. My break is almost over. I hit delete and head inside can’t be late.

Sort:  

YES great one, short to the point and easy to read. This is right up your alley!

Thank you for checking it out so fast. First time trying a super short one glad you thought it worked.

i did and by reading your blog i might try it too

The inspiration to make an important decision in our lives can come at any time.

Thanks for stopping by to read my story.

you´re welcome dear friend.

Nice. I really enjoyed this. And I think it captures real life! We all hate spam and yet sometimes we can't help being a little enticed by their promise, or even lured in as it seems he was the last time he took a chance. And there's the unfortunate fact that having been burned, the character's willingness to take another chance in life is greatly diminished.

Thanks for reading it you see a lot of what was in my mind. Most great people will tell you they failed more often that succeed. They just kept at it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, that is so true. And I say that from personal experience.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think microfiction is a great art form in and of itself. You have to learn to be brief and concise. You did that here. I like the short sentences. Punchy.

Thanks man this was hard. And this week it was 100 words. 50 is the normal

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.698 which ranks you at #13777 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 40 places in the last three days (old rank 13737).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #147.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70