The Escape (Flash Fiction Contest)

in #flashfiction6 years ago

flashfiction-escape.jpg

Source

We stumbled, skin battered and bruised from the branches as we ran, heedless of the pain. This was our escape, having been locked in the dark cabin for months. Tortured daily, wondering if we would see daylight again.

I burst through the trees first, the sunlight nearly blinding me. I stepped onto the small town street. The lights of a cafe across the road giving me hope. Freedom was but a few steps away. I turned back for my sister, seeing the dirty hand of our captor pressed against her mouth, a knife against her throat.

We were doomed.

black.png

This is my entry into the 100 words or less Flash Fiction Contest by @gandhibaba

black.png

Short Stories

goodmorning-sunshine.jpg

Thumb-a-modern-tale.jpg

forhope.jpg

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

black.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos.

byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Intense. <333 You get my upvote, resteem & well wishes that you win. Much Love! #steemitbloggers

Eek! That was a fun, quick thriller!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58956.47
ETH 2517.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48