Once I was a scientist...

in #flashback7 years ago

At school I was always interested in science, biology in particular. So I pursued my interests at University completing a Bachelor of Science, and then heading into the laboratory to complete an Honours & PhD in physiology and pharmacology.

As a result of my PhD I had a journal article published in the American Journal of Physiology, you can find the full article here: http://www.physiology.org/doi/full/10.1152/ajpheart.00844.2005

It's interesting to look back now & think how many revisions and how long it took me to write that article. Each of the graphs in there I painstakingly created and offered to my supervisor for review. I'm still proud that I contributed to scientific literature, and it's interesting to see as of February 2018 it's been cited in 34 other publications.

I spent many months on this apparatus measuring electrical currents in muscle, and altering them with compounds acting on the calcium channels.

closeup.jpg

And I literally spent years using these organs baths. They allowed muscles to stay functioning for a long period of time so I could evaluate whether the compounds we were working on were effective in altering the disease process.

setup.jpg

I was so young!

labme.jpeg

Here's a few news stories the University magazine published on my work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42