Flagging Needs to be Encouraged with Flagging Rewards!

in #flagging7 years ago

In order to encourage flagging on the platform, we need to implement a new type of curation reward:

The Flagging Reward.

It makes perfect sense.

Since we are awarded for finding "good content" by voting for it early, we also need to awarded for finding bad content. Why? Because cleaning up the blockchain is as important as preserving the good content.

If I discover shit, flag shit, and others join after me, I should be rewarded for discovering said shit in the first place.

I think it's a shame that so much shit goes undiscovered on Steemit for their shittyness, and in the most extreme of cases, shit even gets heavily rewarded because flagging it is not rewarded, and is just a drain on one's voting power.

This would incentivize keeping the platform in check.

This is what we really need to have in HF20.

The extent to which I'm serious about this I will leave to you to figure out.

Sort:  

There is a lot of complexity residing by the flag feature here on steem...

I don't know how something like this would play out. I can only guess.

There should definitely be flagging guilds like @steemcleaners though. Great concept.

Are flagging rewards really enough? Our patience has been abused enough by these bloggers of bollox. We need an inquisition to expose those who would blaspheme the quality content of Steemit.

Economic punishment has been ineffective. The ranks of blasphemers have swollen to epic proportions and the time is right to hold those who would transgress to the fire.

I think this would be open people to abuse by people who don't agree with your content.

Agree. Thin line between flagging inappropriate or shitty content, and censorship of content you don't like. Not sure how to maintain a hard line between those two concepts.

Yeah I'm not a big proponent of flagging but how about having a method to like or dislike ratio that doesn't effect the payout directly but can help someone to determine how the content was recieved.

The up and down thumb in Yahoo was very limiting. The emoji option in FB gave more opportunity to express a range of reactions.

Having upvoting and flagging as the only options is definitely too limiting, will have to change over time to give more options to keep up with other social media

Trade-off is adding too much complexity would limit the size of the audience that are preparing, able, and willing to handle the increased complexity

Agree, i was thinking the like dislike ratio is very handy in youtube and doesnt directly effect monetisation

Although I agree there should be a more solid option to act against spammy low quality content...I think it would be better to have rules or guidelines of some sort so everyone can more easily determine what is supposed to be flagged and ultimately not even supposed to be posted

I fully agree with you, but I do think that it is nearly impossible to have direct guidelines because of the vast majority of people just posting whatever they want. You should perhaps make a list of possible rules - do it as a post and then let people respond to it...

Can we have Flagging Guilds and Flagging Trails as well? And a Most Flagged Shitposts tab?

What a great idea! The Flagging Guild could have the CEOs voting keys that they could use to flag their own posts at 100%.

keep on FLAGGING?!

Flagging is for the powerfull
If you have less voting power you don't need to flag because nothing will happen

Great idea but it's hard to predict if the users wouldn't manipulate flagging.

It is a really nice idea, and I would be glad to receive rewards for flagging, since I did it myself on some articles that I discovered were stolen.

The only problem I can see with this are people trying to flag all kind of content just for the sake of doing it, in order to get more rewards. Another problem would be people flagging others for minor things, hoping to get some money out of that.

I think it's a great idea, and I hope something like this will be implemented in the future, I just really hope they do it well and they don't encourage flagging for rewards.

Great post, awesome idea, I wish you best of luck! :)

But this is rude to that person

This is some serious shit you are talking about here. I think its pretty hard to know what is good shit and what is bad shit, and when shit is shitty enough to warrant flagging it. How do you decide if some shit needs shitting on or not?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78